Post Vacation Blues

I just got back from vacation to Assateague Island, Maryland. For those of you who don’t know, it is a campground right on the beach with wild horses (and, unfortunately, horse flies). It was a great vacation, jammed packed with a whole lot of nothing! Basically, all I did all day was sit on the beach with a book in my hand, take long walks along the coast, or bike to the nearest shops. Oh yea, and EAT! I definitely have to start keeping track of what I eat again after this trip!

Horses on the island

It was very nice to spend a week with my family, but now the reality of heading back to Pennsylvania has started to sink in.  Needless to say, I was not too pleasant when my alarm went off this morning and I had to head back to work.  Although I do enjoy my job, I was not disappointed when I was able to finish up at noon and head home to a beautiful afternoon.  I decided to sit outside and read a book, but unfortunately, it was short-lived.  Ninety-six degrees doesn’t feel too bad when you’re sitting in the ocean breeze, but it was far too hot for my liking today.  I decided to head inside and continue reading.  I may be a little behind the times, but I just started reading the Harry Potter series shortly before the beach. I am hooked! I am already halfway through book six! This is what I had next to me while I read:

Crazy Geno!!

He never fails to entertain me! I never thought I would be a cat person, but I am slowly quickly converting! Well, after reading about half of the book, I decided to go out of my comfort zone and try a peach.  I know, I know, I am pretty pathetic, but I was never a fan of peaches growing up and it is kind of a big deal that I tried one (I have been nicknamed Picky Nikki over the years…).  But, I have been told that taste buds change every so many years, so I figured I had nothing to lose by attempting the fruit!

Pre-peach eating

Well, I can’t say I hated the fruit, but I don’t know whether it is my favorite or not.  I think strawberries still hold that title.  Once I decided that I didn’t like the fuzziness of the skin and just ate the insides, I liked it a bit more.  The hardest part for me was figuring out how in the world to cut it! I’ll admit, I am definitely not going to be the next Betty Crocker, though I am trying!

What I left of the poor peach...

A little more time spent reading and it was time for dinner!  I put together a quick salad, and it was delicious! I topped it off with some strawberries, making it even tastier! Though I miss Travis, my boyfriend, while he is in Disney World (poor guy), I don’t have to make dinner with him in mind and can make things I like! While swimming in college, I got involved in a mentorship program with local third graders.  My buddy, Makenna, and I are pretty much best friends, and she came over for a while this evening as well as her family.  Post-visit, I headed to the gym.  All in all, great, relaxing day, though everything is better at the beach!

My workout: (BTW it was super tough after practically a week off!)

  • 35 minutes on the elliptical
  • Run/walk 2 miles (note to self: start running again!)
  • Upper body lift
  • Core workout
Question before parting:
What have you done, big or small, that has taken you out of your comfort zone?
6 Comments

Filed under Life

6 responses to “Post Vacation Blues

  1. Wow I can’t believe you just started reading harry potter!! I LOVE those books! I’m super jealous of your boyfriend.. I want to be in Disneyworld!!

    • I want to be in Disney, too! Unfortunately, I had to work and I couldn’t front the money currently. Boooo…though I am looking into the Disney half marathon in January..trying to convince my parents to help out as an early Christmas present!

  2. That’s so cool that you’re blogging too, Nikki! 🙂 Can’t wait to read!

    I just got back from vaca a bit ago too; it’s SO hard to be back. I’m still not over it. It looks like you had a great trip though!

    • It was a great trip! And I have been motivated thanks to you and Jess to try the whole blogging thing! So far, I am loving it! If you have any advice about the blogging world, feel free to help me out! 🙂

  3. Your cat is so cute!!! He looks just like mine 🙂 Yay for being a cat person!

    On another note – I HATE peaches unless they come in a can or pie or something where they come de-haired. Try a nectarine. It’s like a peach without hair. Just an idea. ha

Leave a Reply

