My Attempt to Make a Difference

Hi everyone! Hope you’re having a great day! I know I am! 🙂

I knew it was going to be a great day due to the fact that I had absolutely nothing to do! But I did feel pretty productive in making some movement toward reaching my current goal: to make a difference! I have vowed to try and make a difference in my attitude toward my life and also to try and make a difference in the lives of others.

The first way I have decided to do this: Grow my hair to donate.  I have never, ever had long hair.  It is curly and becomes frustrating so I normally just chop it off as soon as it gets past my shoulders.  But this year, I have decided to grow it out and donate it to children in need.  I have set the date for the middle of August, assuming my hair is long enough.  I currently have no idea how long it is straight.  Without air conditioning, you’d have to pay me a million dollars to straighten my hair in this heat!

Me in high school with short hair (probably what my hair will look like after chopping it off!) Don't mind the braces! 🙂

The second way in which I’m making a difference: This one goes both to help me reach a personal goal as well as help others.  I have decided to sign up for a 65 mile bike ride that is occurring in September in Erie, PA.  It is called that Aptalis CF Cycle for Life, and a large percentage of the proceeds are given to the Cystic Fibrosis Foundation for research and testing.  This is a big deal to me.  One of my best friends from high school has cystic fibrosis, and I am bound and determined to raise a good bit for the cause.  I also am excited to physically motivate myself for the ride.  I have never cycled before and am pumped to start getting in better shape for it.  I just recently purchased myself a new road bike, and so did my boyfriend, who is going to do the race with me! I went for a nice ride today, though it was very extremely hot!  Anyone interested in donating to the cause, I would really appreciate it! Here’s a link to my donations page.

New bike ❤

Another goal I have set for myself: Start training for a run again.  I just completed the Pittsburgh half marathon in May, and my sister and I would like to do a 15k in December.  It is called “Will Run for Chocolate” so it is definitely right up my alley! Here is the link for anyone in the DC area that may be interested.  There is also a 5k along with the 15k!  Anything that has Ghirardelli chocolate fondue afterward is worth being a part of!

Setting personal goals gives me something to look forward to.  Something else I am looking forward to: finishing up the Harry Potter books and movies.  I woke up this morning and watched the second movie, Chamber of Secrets! It gave me motivation to continue reading book 6. I am almost finished!! Hopefully, between reading before bed and reading a bit tomorrow, I will be finished with the book and can move onto book seven! 🙂

Exercise for today:

  • Barre3 workout: something new for me..loved it! Saw it on demand and after one time, I am hooked!
  • 12.6 mile bike ride around good old Shippensburg: yay for farmland and hills!

Today's cycle statistics

Anyone have any fun races in the future?
Any advice as I train for the 65 mile cycling race?
5 Comments

Filed under Life, Races

5 responses to “My Attempt to Make a Difference

  1. I think I’m going to sign myself up for your chocolate race. That’s what I call motivation. ha
    I’m also doing a 65-mile ride on July 31, but I have barely taken my bike outside – I do all my training at spin class (I’ll let you know how that works out for me)
    And I’ve donated my hair twice now – it’s such a great feeling! Congrats on deciding to do it 🙂

    • I am so jealous that you have access to a spinning class. I worked in DC last summer and lived with my sister. Her gym had spinning and I loved it, but there isn’t a class anywhere around me!

  2. That’s awesome, Nikki, on everything! I know you’ll do great. 🙂 I’m so glad you like Barre3 too; I’m obsessed! It’s definitely a workout unlike anything else I’ve ever done!

    • I could feel the burn the entire time, but it was a good burn! I think I am going to have to splurge and buy my own DVDs of it to keep it a little more interesting than the same routine every time!

  3. Umm sign me up for that race?! Not kidding. I’m seriously considering it, but I have to wait until I’m done cross country season to sign up. I have tons of races coming up since the season starts… two 5k’s per week! I also love that you are donating your hair.. I donated 18 inches when I was in 5th grade. I never had short hair and I was devastated but I got over it, so it was worth it.

Leave a Reply

