My Call to Volunteer

Volunteer (n.):  a person who performs or offers to perform voluntary service

I find this definition very fitting to my life.  I honestly love volunteering.  In middle school, I volunteered at a food bank and old folk’s home.  In high school, I was part of the Community Action Program.  This allowed me to work at the local Special Olympics track and field events, babysit children at PTO meetings, work food drives, and work at events in the local community.  In college, I joined the co-ed honors frat on campus for the sole reason of volunteerism.  We held clothing drives, worked at a home for children with special needs, hosted Alex’s Lemonade Stand, and collected school supplies for Teach for America. I also was a volunteer coach for the local Special Olympics swim team.  For years, I have done races to raise money for different organizations, such as the Susan G. Komen Race for the Cure.

Sooo much fun helping out with these guys!

I still feel the need to volunteer for as much as I can.  There are now a few organizations that hit close to home, and I feel compassionate about raising money for these organizations as well as donating my time for their causes.  This weekend, I went to my parents house for a few reasons.

Reason # 1: Find shoes for my cousin’s upcoming wedding.

Mission complete!

Reason # 2: Volunteer at the Jam on Walnut.

View from our booth!

Once a month throughout the summer, the Western PA chapter of the Cystic Fibrosis Foundation hosts a benefit concert in the streets of Pittsburgh.  Basically, it is a huge block party.  They close down the road, set up beer booths, and have bands play for a few hours on a Saturday night, all while raising money for the CFF.  I attended the Jam on Walnut in June, but felt compelled to help out at the jam last night.  I had a blast. One of my best friends has CF, and the two of us got to work together with a few others at a beer selling booth.  I took orders and money; he filled up cups.  All and all, it was a great time, and it was even better because I rarely get to see him.

Our beer truck

The feeling I get after volunteering is amazing.  I wish I could make a living off of volunteering day in and day out.  Any suggestions on how to make this happen? My current volunteer plans include donating my hair and cycling for the CFF. I am pumped for both events!

Also at home, I got to see my lovely grandma! She is the cutest little Italian lady, pushing 90 years old, and still going strong.  We found her a dress to wear to the wedding and also went to lunch. Successful trip home! I took both days off of exercising to enjoy my family and time at home. Back to the grind tomorrow!

Grandma with my family at a wedding last year!

Anyone else love volunteering?

What do you do to help others?

Any suggestions for other ways I can volunteer? 

4 Comments

Filed under Life

4 responses to “My Call to Volunteer

  1. How cute are those shoes?! Love them!

    I really need/want to volunteer more. It really is the best feeling! The Jam on Walnut looks like it was a blast, and for such a great cause. 🙂

    • It was so much fun! I am so glad I got to do it. There is another Jam on Walnut in August, but unfortunately it is the same day as my cousin’s wedding so I can’t make it. Oh well, at least I can look forward to wearing my new shoes! 🙂

  2. If you find a way to make a living off of volunteering, let me know. ha I would LOVE to volunteer at my local animal shelter, but instead I just give them donations & other supplies when I can. I’m such a sucker when it comes to helping out animals.
    The Jam on Walnut has always looked fun! Glad you got to go & help out a great cause at the same time.

Leave a Reply

