Oh, Hoopy Day!

Happy Tuesday everyone! Or in my case, Hoopy Tuesday!

Ok, I guess I need to explain myself.  Well, I got off work at one this afternoon, sat outside and read for a while, and then decided I was bored.  What is a good way to get rid of boredom? Hula-hoop! And watch Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire, that is.

My first hooping experience!

A year or two ago, I went on my family vacation and was introduced to the wonderful weighted hula-hoop.  I fell in love with it and got one for myself. My hoop is approximately ten pounds, and I got to pick my two favorite colors to create a specially made hoop! (I chose purple and lime green.) I had kept the hoop at my parents house but decided to bring it back to school with me.

My pretty hoop! 🙂

Today I was reunited with my hoop, and I hooped for twenty minutes in each direction (clockwise and counter-clockwise) while being completely focused on my Harry Potter movie.  I didn’t even drop the hoop a single time.  Though I definitely wouldn’t classify it as a hard-core workout, it is definitely a mindless way to tone your core!

The down-side of hooping with a weighted hoop… bruises.  I mean, I do bruise really easily, but there is definitely a possibility of some black and blue marks!

Another thing I can now add to the list of things I have tried: a horned melon.

The outside of the horned melon!

What in fact is a horned melon? Apparently, the horned melon, also called the kiwano, is native to Africa, and is part of both the cucumber and melon family. The only reason I tried it is because the BF saw it at the grocery store and just needed to have it!

This is the melon when you cut it open

A spoonful of the fruit!

Odd as it is, I actually enjoyed the fruit! It tasted like a green grape, which are one of my favorite fruits! Never had I imagined eating such a thing, but I am glad I did!

As for exercise today, we had planned on getting in our first good bike ride.  But, the BF was on a field trip with his summer school class, and they didn’t get home until it was nearly dark. Another reason I wish we had a spinning class in the near vicinity!

Instead, we headed to the gym!

My workout:

  • Treadmill interval workout I found here — I really doubted myself beforehand but did the whole thing at the intervals given! So proud of myself! It ended up being about 4.6 miles
  • 20 minutes on the stationary bike — approximately 5.6 miles
  • Great stretch!
  • Oh ya, and some hula-hooping!
Anyone enjoy interval training? I love the feeling I get after completing a difficult one!
Have you ever tried any interesting fruits you’ve never seen or heard of before eating them?
9 Comments

Filed under Life, Training

9 responses to “Oh, Hoopy Day!

  1. I love the hoop! My mom has one like that and it’s so much fun.

    I don’t really do interval training, but it is a good workout!

  2. I’m so glad you liked that interval workout!! It’s a goodie, huh?

  3. That is by far the strangest fruit I’ve ever seen. ha

  4. Haha that is an awesome looking fruit!

  5. Pingback: Happy Blog-iversary! | Life After Swimming

Leave a Reply

