Insecurities

Let’s face it…most of us are insecure about something.  Some of us are a little more insecure than others, and I feel as though I may fit into that category.

So what is it that I am insecure about? One of the main things is my hips! Though I have been told that I have great “child bearing” hips, I still feel a little uncomfortable about them especially because I don’t plan on having kids in the very near future.  Honestly, without them, I think I could very well be a size 4 or 6 instead of the 10 that I am now!! My jeans are always huge around the waist and too tight around the thighs.  Oh well, such is life.

Beyonce's rocking hips!

I know that some people, like Beyonce for instance, have been said to have wide hips, but there is no way mine are in the great shape that hers are! I have decided, though, that instead of complaining that my hips are too big and dwelling on the fact, I should try a new perspective and DO something about them. I am sick of the chub rub in my inner thighs! That’s why I have started to focus more on leg lifts.  Squats have always been my most feared/hated exercise at the gym.  But they are a great toning exercise, so I have been persuading myself slowly to include them more in my workout routines.

So, to better my mood and my body, this is the workout I did today!

  • 45 minute interval workout on the elliptical
    • 5 minute warm-up
    • 1 minute low resistance
    • 1 minute high resistance
    • Continue alternating resistances until 40 minutes
    • Lower resistance for 5 minute cool-down
  • Lift
    • Lunges with 5 pound weights (15 per leg)
      • Set one: Lunge one leg while extending arms (with weights) to the sides until shoulder height
      • Set two: Lunge one leg while extending arms (with weights) to the front until shoulder height
    • 20 jumping jacks
    • 10 squat jumps
    • Squats with 10 pounds weights (15 reps)
      • Feet hip width apart
      • Squat down and up
      • In between squats, curl dumbbells to shoulders and press overhead
      • Return to starting position
    • 20 jumping jacks
    • 10 squat jumps
    • 3 sets of 15 reps: supine dumbbell press
    • 3 sets of 10 reps: tricep kickbacks
    • 3 sets of 10 reps: shoulder raises
    • 3 sets of 15 reps: leg extension
    • 3 sets of 15 reps: hip abductor
    • 3 sets of 15 reps: hip adductor
    • Abs: bridge lift x 3 (lay on back with feet flat on ground, raise hips, hold for one minute)
Well, I can definitely feel that burn! 🙂
Do you have anything you are insecure about? How do you deal with your insecurities?
What can I do to get rid of the chaffing between my legs? I know, gross! But it is painful, and I need some good exercises to tone my legs and get rid of the chub rub!
10 Comments

Filed under Life, Weight lifting

10 responses to “Insecurities

  1. Hey girl! I can’t help you on the leg exercises… I’m actually the total opposite of you. Weight will NEVER go onto my butt or legs. Instead, it goes onto my midsection. And let me tell ya, that isn’t fun either. So to answer your other question, that’s where my insecurities lie. I’m not a fan of my midsection. However, I have learned to accept the fact that no matter how fit and healthy I am, I’m never going to have a 6 pack. And really, that’s ok. I’d rather have the cookie. 😉

  2. Er

    1. Baby powder does wonders to prevent chaffing when running, walking, etc.
    2. I personally try to only use my own body weight for thigh exercises, because I get SO MUCH MUSCLE there and it does not look flattering. My own body weight tones it without getting so bulky.
    3. I’m with you girl! When I got measured for my wedding dress I was a 4/6 everywhere but my hips/butt! It makes me so many times bigger haha

  3. I definitely spent a lot of time hating my hips/butt, because…they’re usually bigger than most people’s, lol. I’ve come to accept them (mostly) though, because I figure I’d rather have them then have nothing there. It is tough though, because like you, my pants do the same thing! And everywhere else, I’m fairly small. The only thing that’s really ever helped slim my legs/thighs/hips is yoga. I don’t know why! I can do squats till I’m blue in the face…it just never works for me.

    You look great though, Nikki! 🙂

    • Awe thanks, Jess!! I have never done anything about mine before, but figured I would at least give it and see how it goes! I have in season jeans and out of season jeans, and now I barely fit into the bigger pair, so I feel I should try and fix that! haha

  4. Chub rub is the worst! My thighs have always rubbed together. I honestly think that it would be weird if they didn’t at this point in my life. LOL!

  5. Oh boy do I have insecurities. And you are so right, most woman feel that there is SOMETHING wrong with their bodies or a part and they want to change it. This is completely fine thing to do, it’s when things start to go too far that it can be dangerous. Like with me, I just wanted my stomach to be a bit more flat, just lose a few more pounds… an eating disorder later and yeah… time to improve my outlook ha.
    I think your approach to handling your insecurity is absolutely wonderful. Toning exercises like squats are amazing for you (and utterly painful- just try to remember the results!)
    I like the workout you have here, its a good mix of exercises. Keep us updated on your progress.
    Having said all of this, you do look rather fabulous and only make changes if you truly want to! 🙂

Leave a Reply

