What’s the Plan?

I am a planner. Those who know my family would say I get this quality from dear old popsicle (my dad). I need to have a plan for everything.  For instance, I need to know exactly what I will be doing the next day.  Every night, I pick out an outfit for the next day, pack my breakfast and lunch, and decided what I will be having for dinner. I make sure I have an agenda. I constantly make “To-Do” lists and update my planner like it is my job.

I wouldn’t say I am crazy organized, but I really like routine and structure in my life.  For example, I will let my room turn into a total pig-sty, but there’s no way I will miss a meeting! I do organize my email into categories…one of my crazy quirks.  I break them down into personal, school, miscellaneous, etc. I can’t stand having emails back up in my inbox!

So what happens when a plan falls through? What if I planned the night before that the next day I would go for a bike ride instead of going to the gym, and it ends up raining all day? What if I schedule to meet up with someone, and they back out at the last minute?

My initial reaction: frustration. I get worked up easily, and until I take a step back, it is hard for me to look past the failed plan. As a grad student in special education, I know that need for routine is a common characteristic of individuals with autism.  Breaking the routine can result in temper tantrums and they can even become violent. Recognizing that the routine is not a determinant of daily success is something that helps those with autism.  Sometimes, I feel as though what I learn in my classes can help me with my own life.  Just because something didn’t go according to plan, I do not have to become broken down over it.

How do I look past these routines, though? I know that having a general daily plan is something I need to do in order to feel prepared to enter into the coming day.  But what can I do to help myself look past the need for exact structure throughout my life? Not everything can go exactly according to plan. Recognizing this, I feel, is a good step toward trying hard to stay positive through changes to the routine.

Are you a big planner? Do you need structure in your daily routine?

What do you do when something in your life doesn’t go according to plan?

My workout for today:

Another interval workout…seems to be the theme of the week for me! 🙂

  • Warm-up: 3 minutes walking
  • Set 1: (33 minutes total)
    • 2 minute jog
    • 2 minute run
    • 1 minute walk
    • 3 minute jog
    • 3 minute run
    • 1 minute walk
    • 4 minute jog
    • 4 minute run
    • 1 minute walk
    • 5 minute jog
    • 5 minute run
    • 2 minute walk
  • Set 2: (14 minutes total)
    • 1 minute jog
    • 1 minute run
    • Repeat 6 more times
  • 5 minute jog
  • Cool-down: 5 minute walk
  • Total: 1 hour
I did my walk at 4 mph; jog at 6 mph; and run between 7.5 and 8 mph. It ended up being 6.1 miles!
15 Comments

Filed under Life, Training

15 responses to “What’s the Plan?

  1. I was super organized & OCD in high school, but I gave up on it in college. It stressed me out too much. I think I need to move south where no one has plans and people are much more easy going! ha
    But you did remind me to donate to your bike ride!! I’ll be donating soon 🙂

  2. I make list all the time too! There’s something therapeutic about making them for me. Although…I tend to forget to bring them with me (ie grocery lists) which kinda defeats the purpose. I need a reminder list to remember my to do lists. LOL! Sad, I know 😉

  3. I am getting better, but I used to get soooo anxious without a plan. I remember so many times that I threw fits because there was no set in stone plan or because something changed and I wasn’t ready for it. It’s so silly! Still, i like to at least have a loose plan… I’m just a lot better off when things don’t go as planned than I used to be. I think i might be like this partially because I have two brothers with autism. When things don’t go according to my brothers plan (which he doesn’t realize we don’t know) he goes crazy and it can be scary since we don’t know about his plans!

    • I know exactly how you feel about getting frustrated when there isn’t a definite plan! And just so you know, I hope to teach students with autism in the near future! Learning more autism is the whole reason I wanted to go into special education.

  4. I’m a BIG planner. I even work with a professional organizer as one of my jobs! haha. I’m trying to get better at going with the flow! 🙂

  5. Oh girl I make lists ALL OF THE TIME! I enjoy making a “things to do list” every day and crossing off each item makes me feel accomplished haha
    I am trying to go with the flow more, but it’s definitely tough. I know a whole lot of my disordered eating has to do around planning (food especially) so I am trying to loosen up
    Great interval workout you have there too 🙂

  6. ittybitsofbalance

    I am definitely a planner just like you, and when things don’t go according to planned (not gonna lie) I get a little frazzled!

    I’m getting better at this though 🙂

  7. I’d say I am a pretty big planner (going to gym, packing bfast, lunch) but definitely not as much as I used to be. I still make lists, just not as frequently. I keep the same routine, more or less, so the need for lists’ isn’t as great.

  8. Pingback: Productivity Day | life after swimming

Leave a Reply

