No Judgement

Wow… is it really August already??? Where has the time gone?!

Today, I worked in the morning, watched Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince, and read over half of Sisterhood Everlasting.  When I was about 11, I was addicted to the Sisterhood of the Traveling Pants series,and she just released a new book that shows the “sisters” ten years down the road. I am almost through with it, though, so I need some suggestions for new books to read!

After dinner, the BF and I hit up the gym.  One thing I like about my gym is the “Judgement Free Zone” idea.  They have signs posted around the gym to remind people to not judge others while working out.  It reminds me that everyone is there for a different purpose.  Some may be there to lose weight; others to feel stronger.  No matter what the reason is, being to the gym is a great step on the road to being a healthy individual.  Do not judge a person based on their size (big or small), how much they lift, how fast they run, etc. Isn’t the fact that the people are even making the effort to hit the gym enough?

Although I like to think that I don’t judge other people, I find it hard to not compare myself from time to time to the other women I see working out.  I often catch phrases such as “Oh wow, I wish I had her legs” or “I want to look like her!” flash through my head while I work out.  Instead of watching others while I am at the gym, I have started reading fitness magazines while I run.  It definitely takes my mind off of the others beside me, and I am always motivated by the stories and articles in the magazines.  I love reading stories about men and women who overcome huge life obstacles through fitness.  I try to use the magazines to build up my self-esteem, and I hope one day to be as confident as a lot of the women on the pages.

After working out, the BF and I came home to indulge in some of the goodies we bought at Trader Joe’s.  First, we had Sweet Potato Tortilla Chips. They were yummmyyyyyyy!!!! I can’t wait to have the whole bag a few more with my lunch tomorrow!

After indulging in the chips, we had some pomegranate seeds.  I love pomegranate, but I just wish it were easier to eat! Is there any way to pick all the seeds out without squirting purplish juice everywhere?! haha!

So here’s my goal, stop judging myself, not only when I work out but all the time! Anyone have any ways in which they have gained their confidence?

Any books I should read?

How do you keep yourself from comparing your body/fitness level to others?

10 Comments

Filed under Life

10 responses to “No Judgement

  1. ittybitsofbalance

    That’s awesome that your gym has those taglines around. The gym is probably one of the most judgment-infused places!

    You should read A Thousand Splendid Suns or The Kite Runner by Khalid Hosseini. I read both of these and have seen them all over the blog world as of late 🙂

  2. I make a hot mess when I get pomegranates. LOL!

  3. This is something I need to work on too… I judge myself like there’s no tomorrow! And what comes of this? nothing positive that is for sure.

    • You’re right! Nothing good comes out of negative feelings. I am trying my best to take each negative and turn it into a positive. Instead of “Oh man, I wish I could look like that”, I am starting to catch myself and remind myself..”You look great the way you are!”

  4. Er

    I’m really bad at the gym- I always try to find a guy who is running fast and I pick the treadmill right next to them so I can race them! It is actually really motivating! And don’t get me started on the track- I love lapping people

Leave a Reply

