In a Rut

First of all, I wanted to thank all of you for reading my blog.  I have been loving all of the comments, suggestions, advice, and love you all have shared lately.   It makes me so happy, and all I can do is smile! 🙂

Me, smiling to all of you!

These past few days, though, I have been in a huge work-out and eating rut.  I have been tired, worn down, unmotivated, and starving all day long.  I have been trying to do everything I can.  I have been eating my fruits and veggies, getting a lot of protein, and listening to my body when I am hungry.

All of a sudden, though, no matter how much I eat, it isn’t enough! I don’t want to binge eat, but it seems like my body is telling me I should! And as for working out, my motivation is severely lacking.  I have planned tomorrow to be a day of rest, but it has felt like pulling teeth to get through my workouts until then.  Yesterday, I had to force myself to go to the gym.  I promised myself that I only had to do a half an hour (and that’s all I got through).  Today, the BF and I did our normal 11.5 mile bike loop around Shippensburg, and I had a really rough time with it. I have definitely been dragging!

I have also been having trouble staying asleep and often wake up exhausted.  Am I stressed? That could be it.  This summer has been chaotic and full of changes, so maybe it is all catching up to me. But, I have only worked 2 days in the past week, and I am not working again for another ten days. I just wish I were able to put my finger on what is wrong, because I definitely feel as though something is off.

I feel like this little boy (whose picture I found when I Googled “worn out”):

Have you ever felt this way? It’s like I just need a day to do nothing and let my body catch up with me.  That’s what tomorrow is for.  I am going to get up when my body wakes up, throw a load of laundry in, and then spend the rest of the day doing things that I want to do.  The BF and I even have a date planned! 🙂

I will tell you all about our date soon!

Tell me about your weekend! Got anything good planned?

Has anyone else felt the same way as I do? How have you dealt with/overcome similar feelings?

11 Comments

Filed under Life

11 responses to “In a Rut

  1. As you know, I’ve been feeling the same way. I think it’s more from certain fun times of the month than anything else, but ugh…I want to feel energetic again! lol. I also feel like eating everything in sight. 🙂

    I hope it passes soon, girl! Have a great date night!

  2. Sorry you are in a rut. It definitely happens to me sometimes, too!

  3. I can completely relate to this. When I feel like this I make myself do easy cardio for about 30 mins. It usually gets my appetite normal/keep me from binge eating and makes me happier and best of all, it’s only 30 minutes! 🙂 Before you know it, 10 minutes have gone by, then 20 minutes, then you’re done!
    While I’m doing the cardio, I try to organize my thoughts as well. It usually helps me when I feel like I’m in a rut!

  4. Yes, I’ve definitely been in exercise ruts before. Sometimes, the best solution was a break. I want exercise to be fun, so if I need a timeout to get back in the groove of everything, I sure will take it. 😉

  5. That stinks lady bug. It happens to me too. You just have to keep moving forward. Eventually you will come out the other side 😀 Hope you are having a great weekend though! (I hope it’s cooler where you are)

  6. Pingback: It’s Best to Rest | life after swimming

Leave a Reply

