Back in the Groove

Hope you all had a terrific Monday! It was back to the grind again for me after a terrific break!

Another picture from the weekend..I am not ready to admit that I am back in the states...

This morning, I woke up, went back to work, and then went back to the gym! Wahoo! Now I have jello legs after an hour on the elliptical, but my mood is boosted after my first work-out since Wednesday!!

Exercise is great. I was feeling gross after eating entirely too much this weekend…I went to the gym, and now I feel a whole lot better! It’s funny how the pain in my legs can make me happy but it’s true! 🙂  Endorphins are great things!

At work today, I started scheduling the computer lab attendants for the upcoming semester.  Then this realization set it: Classes start 2 weeks from today. Eeek. I made it through one graduate class, but that was when I didn’t have anything else to do but work a few hours.  Now I will have three classes, more work hours, potentially substitute teaching here and there. And on top of it, I would like to work out, too!!! Actually, as I realized today, I NEED to work out.  Can I do it? Sure I can.  Will it be easy? I doubt it! But as I look back on my undergraduate degree, I do really well when I am extremely busy, and I feel more productive and successful at the same time.

Another realization that set in today: The BF won’t be here anymore! I know that I will be seeing him this coming weekend for my cousin’s wedding, but Shippensburg is going to be lonely without him! He has headed back to his parent’s house to start working at a long-term sixth grade substitute, and he is going to be GREAT! But, it’s just not the same without him to watch TV with and rant to every night before bed.  Who else can put up with my insanity? And now we will have to tell our highs and lows over the phone! Getting back in the groove is going to be totally different without him.

This month is going to bring about a lot of new feelings.  Heading back to school is going to be different than ever before.  No more BF.  No more swim practice.  No more meal plan. Pretty soon, no more long hair! I have graduated, but I am still around. I guess I will get a taste of what it is like to be an adult.  I hope I like it!

At least I know I can always rely on a good salad…like I had for dinner tonight!

Spinach/romaine mix, green pepper, carrots, snap peas, and pomegranate infused red wine vinegar. Totally hit the spot

In order to ease my mind after a lot of thinking, I met with my lovely roommate at Panera today after she was done with work.  We didn’t see each other for a whole week so catching up was necessary!

Delicious frozen strawberry lemonade!

Well, enough thinking about the future for me. It’s going to be a great semester; I can feel it already! I just need to prepare myself for it!

Oh, ya. I had something I wanted feedback on.  I have seen other bloggers doing “Vegan for a Day” or “Vegan for a Week“.  I have really been reading up on veganism, and I think I may want to try and challenge myself to be vegan for a week.  After that, anything is fair game.  I would ultimately like to change my eating habits entirely.

I would like your feedback, advice, and tips.  From those of you who are vegan, what types of things do I have to remember for this lifestyle? What advice do you have for me? 

Can’t wait to hear from you!

 

11 Comments

Filed under Life

11 responses to “Back in the Groove

  1. Where do you get pomegranate infused red wine vinegar?! Yum!

    I know what you mean about becoming an adult in the real world; it can definitely be tough, but I know you’ll handle it all wonderfully. 🙂

    As far as veganism goes, it’s really not that tough. Peas and Thank You blog is a great resource with lots of recipes, and Chocolate Covered Katie has lots of vegan dessert recipes. Shoot me an email if you have any other questions; I’d be glad to help! 🙂

    • They have all types of infused vinegars at Giant (so I am sure Giant Eagle/other grocery stores will, too!) It is pretty yummy!

      And thanks for the blog suggestions! I have a wedding to go to this weekend in which I already chose a chicken dish, so I am going to get ideas this week and hopefully give it a shot next week! I’ll let you know if I have any questions! 🙂

  2. I do Vegan for 40 days every Lent! It really isn’t as hard as it may seem, and my body always feels “cleaner” so I definitely would try it out for a whole week and not just a day – see if you can tell how much your body loves it.

  3. I love that jell-o feeling after a good work out! It’s the best!

  4. I have never tried going vegan but I wouldn’t consider it for myself. I rely on greek yogurt, fish and chicken wayyy too much for getting protein into my diet… this would be bad news for me! However, I think it’s a great challenge to take on!

  5. Pingback: YOGA HIGH! | life after swimming

Leave a Reply

