Strength vs. Speed

Greetings from York, PA!

I decided to take a last minute trip to the BF’s house last night to help him set up his first classroom today! He is a long term sub in a 6th grade classroom, and since school starts next Wednesday and I have off today, I made the hour trip to help him out! I feel like I have been such a world traveler lately (except for the fact that I haven’t even hit half of the world…). Later tonight, we are heading back to Shippensburg quickly, then heading to my parent’s house for wedding weekend!

Well, last night I took a 20 mile bike ride around the greater Shippensburg area.  Yay! It was a great ride…minus a dog attacking me!!!! He was just a little thing but I almost ran him over!

Here’s the route I did! It was a good ride!

This is how fierce I will be come race day 🙂

source

One thing I have realized while riding is the different between speed and strength required to exercise.  Throughout swimming, I was anything but a sprinter.  I did so much better with endurance events that were based more upon holding on for as long as possible rather than holding your breath and going balls to the walls. One of my prime events was the 200 butterfly, which takes strength and endurance to complete.

I have noticed that swimming and biking have a lot in common.  I don’t have as much speed as I do strength and endurance.  When the BF and I ride together, he can kick my butt on the straight, flat parts of our rides.  When it comes to the uphills, though, I feel my leg muscles kicking in that help me power up the hill. I also can feel a shift in my body after pedaling for a long time.  I feel my body breaking into a rhythm and it starts to hurt less the longer I continue (to a certain extent). Endurance is a wonderful thing.  I love feeling the power I have after riding for a long time.  It is so awesome to know what the combination of speed, strength, and endurance is capable of doing!

During yesterday’s ride, I tried focusing more of speed rather than strength.  I kept my bike in a lower gear and used faster pedaling to propel me, rather than my huge leg muscles :). I am hoping my combination of speed and strength training will better help me ride in less than a month!!!

Speaking of months, HAPPY ONE MONTH BLOGIVERSARY TO ME! I can’t believe I have already been blogging for a month! I have learned sooo much from all of you, and I want to thank you for this awesome experience! Can’t wait to keep it coming! 🙂

source

Ok, well off to school! hehe! I will definitely keep you posted, though I am not sure how often, throughout this weekend! Should be a fun one full of family and love!

What are your plans for the weekend?

Are you more of an endurance, speed, or strength athlete?

12 Comments

Filed under Cycling, Exercise, Training

12 responses to “Strength vs. Speed

  1. Brittany @ Itty Bits of Balance

    You’ve seriously only been blogging for one month!? You had me fooled, girl! (By the way, I love that there was a blogiversary cake picture available haha)

    And I know exactly what you mean regarding strength vs. speed. Whenever I would take spin, we would have “strength” days and then we would have “speed” days. I ALWAYS dreaded the speed days, but during strength I always felt like I was owning the class. I guess it’s all part of having beastly woman legs 😉

  2. 200 butterfly is TOUGH! Just reading that makes my shoulders hurt. 🙂 I used to be a butterfly-er too, but never the 200.

    I’m at HLS this weekend! And I’m definitely not an endurance athlete anymore, although I think I could still swim a decent amount!

  3. Er

    The last time I got attacked by a dog while on a bike I found $20 lying in the street. When I bent down to pick it up, I saw him running at me from half a block away: I guess the dog was not happy I was taking it!

  4. Woohoo congratulations on one month! I can’t wait to continue reading your fabulous blog, I am so glad to have “met” you 🙂
    I am much more of an endurance athlete- I can run for quite some time but when it comes to speed? I am the slowest person ever!
    Plans for the weekend = moving back to school….DOOM! 😦

  5. Ugh, I hated Fly. With a passion. I would die after 25 yards. Ick, it makes me tired just thinking about it. I’m not sure if I was a true sprinter OR endurance person. I was competitive and always wanted to beat the person next to me. I think I practiced as fast as I raced.

  6. trythedu

    I’ve always been more of a strength than speed person, both in running and cycling. It’s a great feeling to pass someone going UPHILL, even if they return the favor on the flats. Of course, the speed would help in outrunning the dogs…

Leave a Reply

