Viva la Vegan!

Well, I know that probably isn’t the perfect Spanish translation, but that’s about all I remember from my high school Spanish days! 🙂

The whole reason for this title? My goal for the week! Going vegan, that is! I have made a pact with me, myself, and I.  I have vowed to go vegan for the week.  I started yesterday (Sunday) and will take it to Saturday (or beyond!).

source

The reason for this commitment? A healthier, happier outlook on life and food! I have been feeling “blah” lately due to the food I have been allowing myself to consume.  Though I try to stay away, fried foods, snacks, and sweets have been sneaking into my diet much more often than they should.  Sneaky little things, they are! All of these foods, fried foods especially, make me feel kinda gross and sluggish.  I am hoping this new viewpoint on fueling my body can jump-start my eating habits, and I am definitely ready to take the leap!

I started looking into veganism for the health benefits that come along with it.  The nice thing about the transition to veganism is that I am not a very big meat fan.  I am a chicken girl at heart but steak, pork, ham, turkey…ehh, I’ll pass. I know, I am a total party pooper at Thanksgiving!

I love the health benefits of veganism, and believe me, I have been researching them nonstop lately! There are so many good resources on the web about veganism.  Some of the health benefits are great! Disease prevention? Okay! More energy? Definitely! Lower BMI? I’ll take it! Having all of this AND helping animals? Count me in fo’ sho’!

source

Although I have only been a vegan for a day and a half, I have found it hardest to cut the dairy out of my days.  There are so many things that have eggs in them and I love ice cream and cheese.  It is challenging but I can do it!

Who knows, I may decide that I love veganism, or maybe I want to try vegetarianism.  All I know is that this challenge will give me a new perspective on life.  And right now, it’s what I want to do! Sometimes, though, I feel as though others are judging my decisions.  All you vegans out there…is this normal?? I mean, I don’t care if people think differently of me.  I am living life for me not for others. But still, am I crazy for thinking this way?

Well, enough of the ranting. I am currently puppy dog sitting! My little 4th grade BFF and her family went out of town this week, and I get to watch her two doggies while she’s away! YAYYY! This is the best.  I miss my puppy man from home and this makes life so much better having them around.

One of the cutie pie puppies!

Later on the agenda: a killer lift session.  I have been slacking on the strength training lately and I am about due for a total butt kicking! I’ll fill ya in on what I end up doing! All I know is I am not stopping until my whole body is aching!

Some questions for ya:

As I continue on my vegan path, what things should I be looking out for? Any advice for me as I work through this challenge?

Do you ever feel like others look at you differently based on the healthy living decisions you make?

Any amazing puppies out there?

Favorite lifts?

21 Comments

Filed under Life

21 responses to “Viva la Vegan!

  1. Brittany @ Itty Bits of Balance

    That’s awesome! Best of luck to you & your new vegan ways 😉

    I have definitely felt the wrath of criticism based on my healthy lifestyle and healthier eating habits. You just need to remember who you’re doing it for and all else will fall into place 😀

  2. I would love to try this sometime. I want to do it before the year ends, perhaps in december? I think it would be best to do it during my two week post season break so I don’t have to worry about improper fueling, ya know? Not that you can’t fuel yourself properly on a vegan diet, but I could easily mess up and I’d rather it be during a week of rest!

  3. Are we living the same life? I seriously feel like I have been letting so much crap inside my body lately which isn’t good at all. I can’t wait to read how this goes.

  4. Yayyyy, you’re going to do great!! Yes, people judge me about it often, but usually it’s in a curious way. I do what’s right for me right now, and that’s all that matters. It’s a great chance to educate others about this kind of eating! Let me know if you need any help! 🙂

  5. just found you from Hollie @ lolzthatswim

    as a former competitive swimmer I’m for sure following your blog haha you have a new creeper

    1) just be careful about junk food that’s marked vegan… just cause it says vegan doesn’t mean it’s healthy… some times things are overly processed and loaded with other things your body doesn’t need in order to keep tasty/vegan
    2) yep plenty of people look at me like I’m a freak when I say I’m gluten free… then decide to tell me all the wonders about their breads/cakes/etc.?? it’s weird.

    anyways good luck to you on your new food journey 🙂
    -TheHungeredOne

    • hehe you now have a new stalker, too! 🙂

      Thanks for the advice! I have been trying to stay away from as many processed foods as I can. I’m trying to stalk up on fruits, veggies, sweet potatoes, yumminess! 🙂 And I don’t think you’re a freak!

  6. Awesome! I would love to try, I’m just addicted to cheese. We got somethin’ serious goin on… haha good luck!!!

  7. Er

    OMG how cute is that dog!! I don’t know if I could go vegan because I love both cheese and yogurt, but I can’t wait to read more about this week for you.

  8. This is great and I think it’s awesome you are doing this because you want to and that it could potentially make you feel better! Best of luck 🙂 I can’t wAit to hear how this goes I want to give it a try too!

  9. Pingback: Tuesday Shakedown | life after swimming

  10. I hope you enjoy being vegan! So I typed up a whole comment on this post when I read it the other day and then it disappeared into cyberspace(?) But I’m back and re-commenting!
    I don’t like meat, hate eggs, and avoid dairy. So I eat vegan most of the time, but I never label myself as so. I’m not strict with my “food rules” and so sometimes on occasion I will have a cheeseburger or subway turkey sandwich or something. Most of my diet consists of raw fruit and vegetables! 🙂 Plus nuts, almond milk, some oats, and some bread. I’m pretty simple. 🙂 I don’t like the judgements from other people – I find that it’s different in general when you’re in different places. My small town community is like… the microcosm of unhealthy obese americans. People here are HUGE on eating meat and even being vegetarian is often joked about and made fun of. I don’t even KNOW any vegans – but then again who walks around broadcasting it? As soon as people see me eating something “weird” (aka not junk food!) I get a barrage of questions. No, I don’t eat this way because I’m “on a diet” or a crazy health nut. Why NOT eat healthy food? I just eat this way because I like to.

    • Thanks for coming back to the site! 🙂 I love you outlook on eating…healthy foods are GOOD so why not eat them? Where I am from the people are all “meat and potato” kinda people so I know what you mean!

  11. Good for you! I don’t think I could ever go vegan, it’s just so much to think about and I love cheese so, so much. 🙂

    Remember that what you’re doing will make you feel better so it doesn’t matter if other people don’t understand it. Good luck!

Leave a Reply

