Tuesday Shakedown

Why, hello there!

Did anyone else feel the EARTHQUAKE that rolled on through the eastern US today? How neat was that?! At first, I had absolutely no idea what was going on! My entire house (mind you, this house is from the early 1900s) was completely shaking! Last summer, I was in an earthquake in DC and it was nothing like this! The only one was really loud but this one was just a lot of trembling. Well, that’s definitely one way to shake up the day!

Today is my third day of being vegan, and I have to say, it’s going really well.  Today, I started off with a cinnamon baked oatmeal (thanks to CCK).  I love that her recipes are all vegan, and boatmeals are my favorite easy-peasy breakfast!

For lunch, I made some brown rice pasta with corn, cucumber, green pepper, and some red wine vinegar.  While it may be an odd combo, I adored it.

I also had some Trader Joes Flaxseed and Veggie Tortilla Chips…which are delishhhhh.

I am so excited to continue on this journey.  Overall thus far, my mood is high, energy is high, body feels good.  No more weird feeling in my stomach from eating things I shouldn’t.  I kinda like it 🙂

The rest of my day has been great, too! I woke up and did my doggie duties.  I love those pups.  Then, I came home and just chilled out.  I was even productive and got my bills all paid! YAY! Now if only I could pay off that bike I still have lingering on my credit card… Good thing for no interest for a year! 🙂

One of my roommates came back to school today! I am so excited to have people starting to return to Shippensburg.  It was a fairly lonely town for the summer, and now it is starting to come back to life! With my roommate came her two amazing Corgi dogs! I am PUMPED to have some more cuddly friends this school year.  Animals make everything better. I am sure you will be seeing tons of pictures of them soon enough!  My house is a regular old zoo, and I love everything about it!

Well, as I promised you yesterday, here are the lifts I did at the gym yesterday! I thought I would do a killer total body, but it ended up being more arm focused than leg! I started with a 30 minute easy ride on the stationary bike followed by this:

  • Super set of tricep kickbacks and incline dumbbell press (3 times each activity, 12 reps each)
  • Super set of shoulder press with dumbbells and bicep curls (3 times each activity, 12 reps each)
  • Super set of standing, bent over rows and chest flies (3 times each activity, 12 reps each)
  • Backside routine x 2:
    • Squat with weights: set weights on the floor, squat down and grab the weights, squat down and return weights for 1 rep; 10 reps total
    • Booty jumps: squat back, pull arms back, jump upward and throw hands above head for 1 rep, 10 reps total
    • Lunge jumps: lunge with one leg, leap up, switch leg into lunge with other foot leading for 1 rep, 10 reps total
  • Abs
Ok, so I know I can be confusing, so if you’d like to do any of these exercises and don’t know what they are, feel free to ask! 🙂 I am off to do a 20 mile bike ride!
What are you favorite lifts?
Anyone have any good earthquake stories?
Oh, and you can now like Life After Swimming on facebook using the widget on the left!!! Though,  I am still working on my page! Any help is appreciated!
16 Comments

Filed under Life, Weight lifting

16 responses to “Tuesday Shakedown

  1. That earthquake is just crazy! (we didn’t feel it here though 😦 ) Glad you are okay and nothing happened.

  2. Brittany @ Itty Bits of Balance

    Congrats on day 1! Only 6 more to go 😀

    I do not have any earthquake stories– but being from south Florida we get hurricanes ALL the time! In fact, I’m pretty confident that there is one on the way as I type this… -_-

    And I’m on my way to add you on FB now 🙂

  3. Oh my gosh, that must have been the scariest minute of my life. At first I thought I was shaking because I was so sore from my workout or something, but then I saw the walls shaking!! Thank goodness for twitter – other people were tweeting about it – I thought I might have been going crazy!!

  4. I like overhead presses! 🙂 Also, my friend taught me “skiers” where you have a dumbbell in each hand and basically… well… ski with them. It burns the tris so good.

    I always laugh when people in other states are like OMGZ EARTHQUAKE because I live in CA and well… there’s earthquakes here all the time (cause we’re eventually breaking off lol). haha. anyways glad you survived. :p

    What kind of bike do you have?

    • I have a Trek WSD 1.2. It’s a pretty good bike! 🙂 And this was actually my second earthquake on the east coast which is crazy! I don’t think I could ever get used to them!

      Your skiers sound fun! I will have to try em out! I love when things hurt so good.

  5. I’m glad the vegan thing is going well! 🙂

    The earthquake was pretty weird and scary. I knew it wasn’t the same feeling as the construction going on behind our apartment!

  6. I never had an earthquake story until yesterday–my whole building in NYC was swaying!!

  7. Er

    I can’t believe how calm I was when it was happening: other people sprinted out of the conference room and started running down the stairs and I just sat in my seat and was like, oh, an earthquake! haha

    Your vegan meals look so fresh and delicious…it is almost motivating me to try this!

  8. That boatmeal looks delish! Going to have to try one of those.

Leave a Reply

