Just Pedalin’ Along

Well, folks, it has been one of those days. You know what kind of days I mean? The ones where you just don’t care to do anything, nothing goes “as planned”, etc. etc.

Yep, today was one of ’em. Woke up, tended to my doggie duties, organized, did some nothing, ate, did more nothing. Then what I thought was going to be great and get me really motivated turned out to be the exact opposite.

I decided to go for a somewhat long ride today. ย 20 miles was the goal in sight, and yes, I did complete the mileage. But with a lot of distractions along the way.

Yayy for mapmyride.com! And the little computer on my bike! ๐Ÿ™‚

Usually, riding helps me clear my mind. ย I forget about what’s in my head and focus on the ride. ย I usually break each ride down into smaller increments to make the time pass, and I also usually repeat “work that uphill” goofily in my head to make the hills seem less ridiculous. ย Yes, that may seem silly, but I also use that mantra while running up hills as well.

Today’s ride was anything but refreshing. ย I mean, yes, I feel accomplished and sweaty, but my mind was racing the whole time. ย To make matters worse, I had 3 phone calls throughout the trip. I always make sure I have my phone in a little pouch around my waist because I ride alone. ย It was vibrating the whole time. ย The third time, I thought something bad had to have happened, so I got my phone out to see who it was. ย All three calls were from SubFinder, the system the local school district uses to requests subs. Grrr talk about annoying!

About 15 miles into the ride, I got stopped by a little old lady who needed help picking up her garbage can. ย I could have flown right past her, but I stopped like the good little girl I am. ย I should have felt good about the whole thing, but I guess I was being selfish and it only made me more frustrated with the ride. I did ask her if she needed me to drag it back to her house for her, but she declined. At least I got my brownie points with the elderly! ๐Ÿ™‚

I did the last five miles (well, I had to in order to get back). My nose was running the entire time, though! Luckily, I had a few happy faces greeting me to boost my mood.

Geno baby!

One of our new additions! ๐Ÿ™‚ Jessie!

And a great dinner!

Salad with veggies, baked sweet potato, and veggie burger with vegan cheese! ๐Ÿ™‚

Now, I am going to take the part of the day that has already occurred and throw it behind me. ย It’s time to shower and enjoy the company of friends I haven’t seen all summer. ย All three of those should make me a bit happier! ๐Ÿ™‚

How is everyone enjoying their day?

Any good stories from you?

Anyone else help the elderly today?

16 Comments

Filed under Cycling, Exercise, Training

16 responses to “Just Pedalin’ Along

  1. Brittany @ Itty Bits of Balance

    Aw so sweet of you to stop your ride to help a little old lady ๐Ÿ™‚ We need more good samaritans like you around ๐Ÿ˜‰

    I, unfortunately, did not help the elderly today– but I did just cook my broke boyfriend a cute little dinner on my dime. I can pretend that he’s elderly!

  2. Sorry your workout wasn’t so great…those are the worst! Sometimes it just doesn’t come together no matter how hard you try. It was nice of you to help the lady though!

    My day was kind of blah too, so I’m with you on that!

  3. Travis

    My day was great other than losing my voice before lunch!

  4. Bleh I hate those days, never fun! But that was so nice of you to help out the old lady!

  5. You have a Jessie too! ๐Ÿ˜€ Your babies are so sweet. They make everything better ๐Ÿ™‚ Good job on getting your ride done regardless of the distractions! AWESOME! And I’m sure the little old lady really appreciated your help! ๐Ÿ˜€

  6. It’s so sweet that you stopped to help that woman! Even if you were frustrated, you may have made her day, and that’s something to be proud of. My day has been pretty good – I had a time trial this morning that I was super nervous for, but I did well!

  7. Er

    So sweet of you to help…you honestly probably made that ladies day! And look at those cute faces waiting for you when you walk in the door! Do they make your mood 100 times better? Even when I am having the WORST day ever, I walk in the door to my doggie who is super excited to see me, and I have a big smile on my face.

  8. hey! so hollie at lolzthatswims recommended your blog! I just subscribed. I use to swim in college and cant wait to follow!
    Also, sounds like a nice ride, and you helped someone along the way! (def. brownie pts haha)

Leave a Reply

