And so the semester begins…with a survey!

Greetings, friends!  How many of you started classes/school today? I know I did! Second graduate class ever! For those of you who don’t know, I am working toward my graduate degree in special education.  The class I had tonight is called Elements of Research.  The class takes you through the process of writing a research proposal based on something education related. Ughh. Writing research is not really my forte.  I am kind of freaking out about this class because the cumulative project requires me to write three chapters of research! First, I have to pick a topic.  I have no clue what I am going to write about.  Anyone have any suggestions? Maybe something healthy living related and education? That would actually maybe encourage me to research it!

Well, I was tagged in a survey from the amazing Tessa the other day.  Go check her out, she is great! I really love reading her blog and hearing about her life and her strength! 🙂

So, here goes the survey!

Name your favorite color: Purple. All shades of purple, though I am more partial to bright purple.  I really love the combination of bright purple and lime green, and my walls of my room when I was growing up were those colors!

Purple me on vacation a few years ago! 🙂

Name your favorite song: Ok, this is a tough one.  I like music from so many genres that it makes it hard for me to just pick one! I think that if I had to narrow it down, my favorite song would either be from Something Corporate or Fun.  Probably Fall by Something Corporate.  Though, right now, I am also really into Nicki Minaj.  See my dilemma? I am loyal to a few bands that I have loved since high school, but some new music is slowly sneaking into my favorite artist selections. We’ll just leave it to this: I love music and I don’t want to single out any one artist.  It’s rude. That would be like picking a favorite student in your classroom.  It’s just not allowed. 🙂

Uhhh no caption really necessary on this one. Best concert EVER!

Name your favorite dessert: Ice cream.  Give me ice cream and I’ll be happy.  If I had to choose a specific type, I would say anything with peanut butter or cookie dough. In my life, there’s always room for ice cream, and I will never leave as much as a spoonful in my bowl.  That would just be wasteful! I think I could beat anyone in an ice cream eating challenge, so if you’re up for competition, bring it on!

Yum! 🙂

What wizzes you off: Hmmm I have a lot of pet peeves.  For instance, I cannot stand when people’s eyebrows are a different color than their hair.  A few shades is one thing, but it bothers me when their hair is blonde and their eye brows are black. (Is that rude of me?) Another thing that bothers me… when people make fun of others who are different than them.  I cannot stand to hear anyone say rude things about people with disabilities.  It makes me want to hurt someone! I also hate when I make plans with someone and they don’t show up on time (or at all!).  At this point in life, people should be responsible enough to make it on time! As my college swim coach would say, if you’re on time, you’re late! 

When you’re upset, you: Eat. And cry. And seclude myself. Uh…not the best way to go about things.  It takes a lot to fully upset me.  But when I get upset, I get into a funk and it is hard to break out of it.  I usually feel better after a good workout and a good night’s sleep, though.  I usually keep my feelings in which is another hard thing for me to overcome.  It takes a while for me to open up to someone and tell them my true thoughts on things.  I actually find it so much easier to open up to all of you lovely bloggies than those who I come in contact with!

Your favorite pet: Oh, no! This is not cool.  I am obsessed with animals, and I don’t think I can choose just one! First, there’s the newest addition to my life…my (not so) little baby Gene Gene! And then there’s my little hammy girl Penny.  And then my longest love of a pet, Curly.  They three-way split my heart. I actually told the BF the other day that he has some stiff competition for my love with the animals in my life. (If you haven’t noticed, I love to give my animals nicknames).

Geno!

Penelope!

Hahah Curlster!

Black or white: I definitely find myself wearing more black than white.  I have a favorite pair of black flip flops that are close to being worn down completely because I wear them with every black outfit I own. And I would have to say that I bust out the black clothes more than white because I am pretty darn messy when it comes to eating. Picky Nikki is also Sloppy Nikki.  I have a tendency to fling my meals all over my clothes and the table on a near daily basis.

Case in point... a quick pic of the ice cream I just spilled on my shirt...

Your biggest fear: Quick, loud noises. Popping balloons, thunder, fireworks, etc. Grr. I hate them. They freak me out.  I think fireworks are pretty, but I can only watch from afar. I know, I am a bit childish, but I guess that just means I am still a kid at heart!

Fireworks from a distance, of course!

Best Feature: I would say my smile or my beastly shoulders.  I have been told I have a nice smile from a few people.  I don’t really smile at myself in the mirror too often (though that would probably be a nice thing of me to do) but I will trust others on this one! And as I said before, my swimming background has left me with some pretty muscular shoulders!

Everyday attitude: Do everything I can to make myself healthy and happier.  I can get pretty depressed about myself (especially my body and looks).  The BF is getting pretty annoyed with me constantly saying that I’m fat when I eat too much or don’t get to work out.  My goal is to overcome this and find my happy self.  I am really working on it, which was my sole purpose for starting this blog in the first place!

What is perfection?: Using your imperfections to live the best possible life.  No one is perfect, but being able to recognize your imperfections and using them to better yourself is such a great trait.  As long as you are happy with yourself and your life, you have reached perfection.  No one else can judge your happiness and success!

Guilty pleasure: Sappy, romantic movies and books as well as reality TV.  I don’t get sucked into them too often, but when I do, it is hard to take me away.  I have watched every episode of Jersey Shore this season.  Does that make me lame? Eh, oh well!

Well, that’s all for the survey! Hope you enjoyed learning about my goofy self.  If you want, feel free to repost the survey so I can learn more about you! 🙂

Anything else you’d like to know about me? Ask away!

Any research topic suggestions?

How is school for you?

7 Comments

Filed under Life, Survey

7 responses to “And so the semester begins…with a survey!

  1. I had to do a big research project last year. I wanted to do it on something fitness/nutrition related, but I ended up doing it on Illegal Japanese Whaling.. random, right? It was actually really interesting and I got a really good grade on it! I can’t wait to hear what your final decision is
    Favorite Dessert Twins! I will always choose ice cream over anything else… even if it’s just plain ol’ vanilla. I love it!

    • I definitely love me some ice cream! And that is a random topic you chose! haha mine has to be related to education in some way…I don’t have to choose right away though. Hopefully something comes to me soon!

  2. Er

    I’m with you on the ice cream- definitely my favorite dessert ever.

  3. Pingback: Me Survey « Livin' Life In Louie

Leave a Reply

