Meet the Food Baby.

Holy food baby!!!! (Does anyone else use the food baby phrase?) I just had a 24 hour binge.  Ugh.  Why did I ever do that?

Do you ever get to the point where you just can’t control what you are eating?

That’s how I was today. And last night for that matter.  The tempting semi-burnt cheesecake I mentioned yesterday has been in the fridge.  I swear I cannot go into the kitchen without being tempted into a bite or two.

What's left of the yummy, burnt turtle cheesecake since I have been annihilating it!

And I also went to dinner with a few friends.  We went to Montezumas, which is a local Mexican restaurant.  And it is yummy!!

I always start off by eating far too many chips before my meal. Chips and salsa…yummy! I don’t really like chunky salsa, but they have the smoothest salsa ever. It is amazing.

For dinner, I had cheese burritos and rice.  I didn’t even need the burritos with all of the chips I had, but I ate them anyway! I sadly didn’t have my camera to capture their deliciousness, though. I am feeling like I might have to unbutton the jeans soon…my lovely Pappap taught me that trick at an early age. 🙂

That little man taught me how to eat... 🙂 I sure do miss him!

Which is strange considering how often I am ever spotted out of sweatpants.  Who would have guessed that I would be wearing jeans for once!

I just hate strongly dislike the way I feel about myself now (what a great outlook!).  I am so self-conscious about the way I fit into my clothing and such.  My weight has been steadily increasing, and I know I shouldn’t care but I do. I have gone up two sizes in the past few years, and I am dying to get back to the way I was.

Does anyone have any secrets to resisting temptation? I suck when it comes to having willpower.  If I see something tempting, I just cannot resist! Grrr. Why does food have to taste so yummy!?

Oh, on a happier note…I am going to the beach this weekend! Yay! I am so excited for one last summer getaway.  The BF and I are headed to Bethany Beach, Delaware for the weekend.  His family has a beach house there, and I am exciting to spend some time in the sun! This will mean a lack in posts this weekend, though (unless someone wants to volunteer for a guest post! I would love to have you! 🙂 ) 

Also… I have a little recipe for you! Simplest. Recipe. Ever. Blueberry angel food cake! 

All you need is a box of angel food cake mix and blueberry pie filling. So simple and so delicious.

Just mix the angel food cake mix with the pie filling and bake it in an ungreased 9 x 13 pan for 30 minutes on 350 degrees.

I am still waiting for it to cool, but this is the finished product!

I have been craving it lately, and it is a perfect summer recipe!

Well, hope you’re having a great day! It’s been busy for me…so I may have to catch up on my post reading tomorrow!

Anyone have any will power technique tips?

Got any fun plans to look forward to this weekend?

G’night all! Feel free to like “Life of Swimming” on Facebook! 🙂

16 Comments

Filed under Recipes, Weekend

16 responses to “Meet the Food Baby.

  1. Okay first of all, love the addition of blueberry to angel food cake! Such a great idea!

    Second, your grandparents are super cute!

    And third, girl, I wish I had advice for you. Normally I don’t really have an issue with being tempted with food. If I’m hungry I eat and if I’m not hungry then I don’t eat. Simple as that. Unless of course pizza or spaghetti are involved. In those cases, it doesn’t matter if I’m not hungry, if someone is offering me pizza or spaghetti then I will eat it, haha! So yeah, not much of a help there, sorry!

  2. I’ve always had a big problem with food temptation, made worse during/after my eating disorder. It has only been recently (like literally only the past month) where I find myself just… NOT tempted by foods that would have tempted me before. It’s not due to willpower though… I think it’s just that I’ve been eating mostly raw fruits and veggies as the main part of my diet for long enough now that processed or heavy foods just do not appeal to my body whatsoever. It still tastes good but my body just sends signals to my brain saying “REJECT! Tht makes me feel horrible!” or something. Anyway things just arent tempting any more… Sorry thats not much of a help for willpower though!

  3. Brittany @ Itty Bits of Balance

    Don’t worry too much about it– we ALL have gone through our fair share of binges. (I seriously remember eating half an almond butter jar on one specific occasion….)
    The best advice I have is to just not let yourself around the stuff. For instance, when I make baked goods– I give them ALL away because I know myself! Save a little bit for yourself to have in moderation, and do away with the rest!

  4. Mmm your angel food cake look yummy :))

    Well, don’t beat yourself up too bad for one binge. Some time binging is just because we have an oral fixation and need to be doing something with our mouths (lollllllllll). Brush your teeth (it makes food taste gross), chew gum, or drink water. The last one is a big one, because a lot of time we just eat when we’re thirsty.

    And, when you’re full, but really want to eat more, jut remind yourself “I am not eating extra because (insert goal)”. Or remind yourself how much better you will feel if you don’t overeat.

    happy eating in moderation 😀

  5. Hmm… I don’t have too many hints! I’m definitely guilty of this as well, but try not to let it get you down. Just do your best and keep moving on! 🙂

    PS. Did you change your site/feed? I can’t read your full post in Reader anymore…?

  6. Hahahaha! I think I say I have a food baby at least once a day! 😀

  7. Ahh I am so bad about BLT’s (bites licks tastes). We currently have one of my moms berry pie’s on the counter and she didn’t buy enough berries, so it’s like 90% crust, which is my favorite part, and I can’t stop eating it!! Maybe find a way to hold yourself accountable. Tweet every time you do it because you’re having trouble so that 1) you stop yourself and 2) you don’t want to be tweeting about having now will power, so it’ll prevent you from unnecessary indulging. Just an idea!

  8. great recipe!
    my trick is to not make things off limits. When i do that I CRAZY it. And then I eat ALL of it. Also just take one day at a time. If you eat cheesecake for breakfast and lunch, have a big veggie salad for dinner. hope this helps! Im still working on this, but its all about making it work for yoU!

Leave a Reply

