Beautiful Day in the Neighborhood

Finallyyyyy…sunshine and warm (not hot!) weather!

Tuesdays always seem to be great days! Today, I woke up early, worked at the campus gym from 6:30 to 10, and then was productive for the day!

After work, I came home and finished all of the homework I currently have! I read a few chapters, wrote a one-page synopsis, answered some questions, and did some brainstorming.  It made me feel super productive!

Once I was finished with my productivity, I had a snack of Princess grapes, though I really wished it was the sesame seed trail mix I had mentioned in my weaknesses post earlier.

How could I pass up Princess grapes?!

After lunch today, I headed back to the school in which I did my student teaching.  My student teaching was in a split placement which means that I did eight weeks in one classroom and eight weeks in another.  The first half of my teaching experience was in an emotional support classroom for students in grades 3 – 5.  I then moved into kindergarten for the remainder of the time.

The combination of both experiences was awesome.  I was able to experience so much more than I would have if I were just in one placement.  I had amazing cooperating teachers who mentored me through ups and downs of my teaching experience.  The things I learned throughout the semester will definitely stay with me as I finish up grad school and head into a future classroom!

I loved being able to see my former students. I adored my time with them, and they were excited to see me!  I even got to help with the new kindergartners.  It was so adorable to see their writing at the beginning of the year. I had only seem kindergarten writing at the end of the year last year, and so much changes over the months. I even got to help a group of little ones learn how to walk in the hallways! 😉 No, though it would be fun, sprinting down hallways is not acceptable.

I got home from school and got an email saying my night class was cancelled.  I decided to do a little body rocking and one of Jillian Michaels’ workout videos on On Demand.  The Body Rock challenge I took on was the Dead Man’s Burpee Challenge.  I completed it successfully with just a little time to spare…100 dead man burpees in 10 minutes!

That was going to be all of my workout, but my boss asked me if I would want to ride bikes on the rail trail for a little.  I obviously agreed! It was a beautiful night!

Our route...nothing too exciting!

The whole biking thing got me to thinking…only 4 more days until I am to ride 65 miles in Erie with the BF.  I have been doing little no training. I have kinda decided to just ride with it and stick with him at a fun pace.  I have never done a cycle race before, so I just want to enjoy it and see how it goes!

What are your thoughts?

How was your day? My was made complete with Gene Gene getting up close and personal with my phone camera!

He's a goof ball!

Off to read Stolen Life (the memoir of Jacee Dugard) and head to bed!

6 Comments

Filed under Exercise, Races

6 responses to “Beautiful Day in the Neighborhood

  1. aww super cute kitty

    Be sure to wear some nice chamois biking shorts and consider some kind of cream otherwise you will be chafed from that distance! no fun at all.

    lol princess grapes – i have never seen those

    and what the heck did you do in the gym for 3 1/2 hours?

  2. Er

    Oh let me know how that book is!

    And I think it is a great idea that they are commercializing healthy foods! All of the junk food have toys and fun characters on the outside- it is about time the food industry makes healthy snacks appealing to kids. I would totally eat princess grapes!

  3. wow! 2 1/2 hours in the gym, workout dvd, and a bike ride ( can you please me some of your energy! haha. that is so awesome!)

Leave a Reply

