Belly Dance!!!

Today, I did something I have never done before.  I went to a belly dancing class!!! Our campus offers the class every Tuesday afternoon, and I have always had other things going on.  But today, I decided to go!

I didn’t know what to expect of the class…was it cardio? Was it an ab class? Did I need to know how to dance?

The answers.  No, no, and no.  It was not totally any of those things.  It was very light cardio with an emphasis on abs, and I did not need to be a ballerina to have a good time.

I got to wear a purple one, hooray! 😉

We got to wear little tribal skirts that made noise when you danced, and they were pretty awesome!  I loved shaking my hips! Another plus of the class — it was about 1/8 of the size of the Zumba classes on campus! I HATE being cramped during my workouts!  Overall, I would say the class was pretty awesome.  The instructor said it will get more intense as the weeks progress as well, so I may have to start making it a regular thing!

Because it wasn’t the best cardio, I stuck around the gym and did a 40 minute interval workout on the treadmill.  Here’s what I did:

  • 1 minute walk 4.5
  • 3 minute run 6.7
I did that a total of 10 times for a little over 4 miles! I also made it a slight incline (1.0) to get a little bit tougher of a sweat sesh.  Slowly but surely, I am making my way back into the running scene!
Something I have to consider, though.  Do I want to try and make it into the cycling scene, too?? Shippensburg has a cycling club team.  I emailed the student representative for the club for some more information today because I would really like to get more involved in cycling.
Pros of the club: 
  • Good workout
  • Being involved on campus
  • Meeting new friends
  • Losing weight
Cons of the club:
  • I would be one of very few girls
  • I have never raced before
  • I don’t think I would be as fast as others in the club
What are you opinions on my cycling dilemma?
Have you ever tried belly dancing?
Unrelated, but I need an IPOD update…do you have any song suggestions for me?? I like any and all music!
23 Comments

Filed under Cycling, Exercise

23 responses to “Belly Dance!!!

  1. I think all your cons can be turned into pros!

    You will be one of the only girls. Cool! Maybe you will inspire more girls to join.
    You’ve never raced before. Well, now you will get to! You will learn how and do something new! 🙂
    Everyone will be faster. I know that can be discouraging, but it only means you have something to work up to! Even if you are the slowest now you’ll get faster for sure. Being slower is better than being the fastest in my opinion. I’m the fastest on my swim team and it makes things difficult, plus I have nobody to push me.

    I think trying the cycling team would be a good idea. 🙂

  2. Find out what kind of races they do, if they are beginner friendly, etc. If they are NOT beginner friendly, find a cycling club through a bicycle shop and get good there first before going after the team.

    You’re always going to be one of the few girls in cycling… just how it is. 🙂

    I was a belly dancer for years. It’s pretty crazy, but it’s fun.

    Try Daft Punk for workout music ! 🙂

  3. move like jagger by maroon 5
    stereo hearts by gym class heroes
    drunk on you by luke bryan
    some of my favorite songs of the moment 🙂

  4. Brittany @ Itty Bits of Balance

    Haha wow girl! That’s awesome that you took belly dancing– they have a few classes here at my school, but I’ve never had the guts to go take one myself. You might have just inspired me 8)

    I say GO for the cycling club! It’ll be a great experience for you, regardless of whether or not you’re the only girl or not the fastest! I’m sure not everyone in it is going to be an elite athlete

  5. That is so cool about belly dancing, I have always wanted to try something like that! I would want to wear one of those wrap, skirt things 🙂
    I say absolutely go for the club! I think it’s great to be the only chiccaaa

  6. um. I have never been on a cycling team, but it sounds like a blast! And you have to start somewhere, so if you are the slowest, who cares. im sure all those people were too at some time.

    I have never tried belly dancing! Sounds fun though.

  7. How fun! I’ve always wanted to try belly dancing! Even if it’s just to wear the skirt 😀

  8. I have always wondered if belly dancing was a good workout. No matter what though it sounds super fun! And your interval workout sounds great!

  9. I don’t think being one of the only girls is a bad thing bahaha. But I don’t care for cycling to much but I would say go for it. You will be pushed and that is never a bad thing.

  10. Er

    You are awesome taking a belly dancing class! I did one of those workouts on demands and I felt like a total fool, but my abs/hips felt like they were getting a great workout.

    I would say go for it if the cycling is what you want to do…or at least go to a few and see how you like it/what level they are at. Always have to start somewhere!

  11. I have never done belly dancing before! Good for you! That treadmill workout sounds super challenging… the fastest I usually walk on the treadmill is 4.2 – yikes! A couple good songs for your iPod are ‘Sweet Disposition’ by Temper Trap and ‘You Make Me Feel’ by Cobra Starship.

  12. Pingback: Dark chocolate peanut butter?! | life after swimming

Leave a Reply

