Soda after workouts?

I was glad that many of you understood what I meant about my peanut butter and chocolate obsession.  I will admit to having taken a few spoonfuls of my PB&Co. Dark Chocolate Dreams throughout the day today…

I have been thinking about something I was told after my group bike ride last week.  After we finished out 65 miles, the one hardcore rider immediately reached for a can of Coke.  I found this kind of curious when there was Gatorade, water, etc. available.

When she noticed our goofy looks, she said “I once was told to drink soda after a long workout.”  I found this sort of interesting.  She wasn’t positive why, but figured that the calories, sugar, and caffeine were there to boost the system post workout.

This made me pretty interested.  I mean, I guess it makes sense to put back some of the calories lost while exercising.  But I was still kind of interested to see if there was any real research regarding the information.

So of course, I had a little date with Google today.  Coca-Cola says that “children who have been exercising may not drink enough water to get back to the hydration point that they need to be at. So with a little bit of flavoring and a little bit of sweetness, they will drink enough then to get back to where they need to be.” (source). 

I find this interesting. I immediately thought “make them some lemonade!” I will admit to being slightly addicted to Diet Dr. Pepper, but I don’t use it to fuel my body, hydrate, or gain calories.  In fact, I am trying to wean myself from it!!

Apparently, a lot of body builders drink sodas after their workouts.  One source I found states that “the sugar rush causes a rise in insulin, which tends to negate muscle breakdown associated with hard training.” (source).   It also states that sugar helps to rebuild the muscle glycogen stores. 

In my opinion, there is not a strong argument for drinking soda after a workout.  I feel as though water is still my best source of hydration, and I will continue to get a good source of protein after a workout. 

On another note, I made an awesome squash/zucchini combo with some of my leftover soup for dinner tonight (Mama should be proud!).  I thinly cut up some of my fresh produce, put some salt, pepper, and garlic powder on it, and baked it on 450 for about twenty minutes (with a flip half way!).  It turned out fantastic!

Pre cooking

Pre-cooking

IMG_2482

Final product

Oh, and look who made a visit to my house today…look at this little cutie!

IMG_2484

Her name is Minnie and she is six weeks old.  Makes me miss when my little Gene Gene was actually little!

IMG_2506

Now, he is huge…and mad at me for finding another kitty friend.

What are your thoughts on the soda post-workout?

Do you have full on conversations with your animals? I know I do!

21 Comments

Filed under Exercise, Life, Training

21 responses to “Soda after workouts?

  1. I have actually heard that a lot from extreme cyclists. Not so much other sports but def cycling. I don’t know-it would make sense since they are mostly pure sugar.

  2. Tori

    I feel like pop can’t be THAT much worse than Gatorade, sugar-wise!

  3. First of all, this is my first visit to your blog and I love it! 🙂 I’ve never heard of anyone drinking soda after a workout. I understand the views on replacing calories lost, but to me I’d rather consume calories by eating something substantial than drinking a soda. To each his own 🙂

  4. i used to drink soda after workouts although it was the “diet” kind… it still was a gross habit and im glad i dont. there was something refreshing about it that i think i enjoyed…but i’d much rather have my water 🙂

    xoxo ❤

  5. I have never heard of reading soda after workouts. I guess I understand the gist of it, but I still think there are much better options. But hey, maybe every once in a while it’s worth a try!

    I ALWAYS talk to my furbabies! 🙂 My husband thinks I’m silly, but I LOVE it.

  6. I have never heard of this, but I am sure the sugar would help! Although I bet there are a bit healthier options out there 🙂

  7. I’m not so sure how I feel about this — I feel like there are other ways to re-fuel your body post-workout… of course we need some sugar but can’t we get those through some whole grain carbs, fruits, and chocolate? I generally reach for water post-workout.

  8. That is so cool! I never thought to drink soda! I always have gatorade or energy gels or what ever haha. Hmmmmm I want to try soda and see how I feel after a swim hahaha

  9. I love sodas (it’s my weakness) but I’m like you…I’ve never drank one to refuel?! I usually have one as a sweet fix more than anything. That is odd?

    That is one of the cutest kittens! But Gene Gene is a pretty studly fellow too 🙂

  10. I have never heard of drinking soda after a workout. In my opinion (because it matters right? haha) I don’t think I would drink soda, I would drink something else

  11. soda after a workout? umm… no.

    It’s one thing if you’ve just had an actually extreme workout, but I don’t really drink soda at all anyways. It’s too much sugar for me to handle. I don’t drink Gatorade for the same reason.

    Cute kitties!

  12. I don’t really get that to be honset…you can restore your body without high fructose corn syrup! 🙂

Leave a Reply

