Caramel Apple Time!

As you may know, I mentored a third grader last year in one of the local school districts.  Well, long story short…we hit it off pretty well and are now practically best friends.

Her family is awesome, she is awesome, and we have a great time together.

This past weekend, we got together and made caramel apples.  First, we mashed up some peanuts, cashews and M&Ms while we melted some caramel!

IMG_2549

IMG_2540

Then we stuck our sticks in our Granny Smiths!

IMG_2546

How freaking cute are they?!

IMG_2550

Next, it was dipping time…although half of our caramel ended up falling off (which made for some finger licking yumminess!)

IMG_2552

IMG_2553

IMG_2556

We dipped some in our goodies, but others we saved for another step.  While the caramel hardened, we melted some chocolate chips.

Then, it was time to decorate!

IMG_2560

And finally, we consumed the deliciousness!

IMG_2566

IMG_2563

Don’t let her face fool you…she loved it!!

Definitely feels like fall now! We had an amazing time, and I think I am going to make the BF create more with me! Winking smile

Do you have any fall rituals?

Have you ever made caramel apples?

20 Comments

Filed under Food, Friends, Life

20 responses to “Caramel Apple Time!

  1. Looks like fun! I’ve never made caramel apples, but it looks like it would be a great time!

  2. I just talked about making caramel apples, literally an hour ago with my friends. These look so good now I have to do it!

  3. What a fun time! You already know that I LOVE caramel apples but I’ve never made them at home – so fun! I wish I had little people around to try it with.

  4. Carin

    It was so fun! The kids loved it! We have 3 left to eat!!! We are so glad Makenna got blessed with such a great mentor! You have become a new family member to us! You are like a big sister to her! We love you Nikki!

  5. This is great! I have never made caramel apples but I have eaten my fair share of them 🙂

  6. Aww, that sounds like so much fun!!

  7. Brittany @ Itty Bits of Balance

    Aw! That is so sweet that you still hang out with the girl you mentored. And what a better way to bond than over caramel apples? 😉

    I’ve never made ’em, but I’ve bought ’em 😀

  8. YUM! Looks like a ton of fun. I’ve had a caramel apple once but never made any myself.

  9. Er

    Scott and I go to the apple festival every fall and stock up on all kinds of goodies! I LOVE the falllll : )

Leave a Reply

