Swimming Surprise

Hello, everyone! Hope you’re having a fabulous fall day!

Other than the fact that my phone is being a huge piece of poo, my day has been pretty great.  I worked from 6:30-2, worked out, and now I am chilling until I have class this evening.

If you are my friend on Daily mile, you may already know this, but yesterday I swam for the first time since the beginning of the semester. Let me tell you, it was completely spur of the moment.

During the afternoon, I filled out my paperwork for my coach position and went to hang out with my new high school athletes.  They had a preseason free swim, and I was kind of jealous of them haha.

Wednesday nights are Special Olympic swimming nights, so I am already at the pool.  I figured I might as well just stay and work out!

Flashback to freshman year

Flashback to freshman year!

I’m not going to lie: it was rough at first.  After the first few hundred, though, I got into that groove and felt pretty good. I set my goal of 2 miles beforehand but had no fixed practice set so I just kind of winged it.  Worked out well, though, and by the end I was pretty dead.

Kind of funny how 3300 yards constitutes pretty dead after not having been in the water for a while.  I remember when we would have “easy days” of 6000…

Well, here’s what I did!

  • 1000 warm-up (every 4th length backstroke)
  • 10 x 100 alternating kick/pull with paddles
  • 12 x 50 on :45
  • 12 x 25 IM on :30
  • 400 cool down

Total: 3300.  Not too shabby for a retired swimmer!

I don’t know if I will fully commit to swimming often or just every once in while.  But all I know is that I don’t hate the sport.  I do hate the pressure that was on me by myself and others back in the day to “be faster,” and I don’t miss the long hours put into dryland and swimming weekly.  I miss being part of a team but don’t miss the drama… But swimming and I can still have our love/hate relationship.  For now, at least.  Maybe one day it will be pure love, but only time can tell!

Team bonding love ❤

Well, I sadly have class tonight, but I am going to see my favorite man for the weekend. Can’t wait Smile

Have you ever given something up (swimming, running, dancing, anything?!), and found yourself being drawn back to it?

Do you have anything you are looking forward to for the weekend?

5 Comments

Filed under Exercise, Life, Swimming

5 responses to “Swimming Surprise

  1. I’m so proud of you for getting back in. Can I be just like you when I grow up?! I’m glad you had such a great swim though. 🙂

  2. I took dance lessons from when I was very young until I graduated high school. Every now & then I miss it, but it’s mostly something I associate specifically with that time of my life!

  3. I am drawn back to running time and time again. I go through spurts. i ran in high school and over the years I have been drawn back to it for a time every now and then. 🙂

  4. You sound so much like me! But in the future, LOL. I hate the pressure of swimming that was put on me by everyone including myself. At the end of swim season my sophomore year I had a giant meltdown and didn’t even go to the pool for at east 6 months. By then, I missed it and eased my way back in. Although I’ve been close to quitting several times since then! Haha.

    I used to do dance and gymnastics for over 7 years when I was younger, and I LOVE it, but it’s really just not my forte and I’m not going back to it. Maybe one day I’ll dance again though.

  5. Yay! Glad you at least enjoyed it and got an awesome workout too 😀

Leave a Reply

