Playing Catch-up and BBMak

Whoa.  I am really sorry it has been such a long time since I have posted.  Last week, as I have mentioned, I got into a funk about my life.  It took me a few days to come around, but I can successfully say crisis has been averted and the funk has passed.

Because it has been such a long time, though, there is a LOT of catching up for me to do.  This is just going to be an overview, but I will warn you, I had a couple awesome days of not caring about anything!

Thursday started the awesomeness of the extended weekend.  I woke up and went to work, but then I went to eat lunch at the local school with the girl that I mentor.  I then worked out and went to class, and post class, went to the bar to hang out with my fellow coaches.  No drinking for me this night, but it was nice to get out and enjoy life and dance!

Friday, I woke up and lifted, then last minute, I drove to my sister’s to spend some time with her! Let me just preface this by saying it was an amazingly ridiculous 24 hours. We started by hanging out and shopping at Target and Dick’s sporting goods.  I got some clothes, shoes, and new running socks. 

IMG_3010

2011-11-12_16-35-36_7

We then went to see J. Edgar which I really wanted to see! It was amazing!! I really recommend it to anyone (history buff or not!).  We used a machine at the theater to purchase our tickets, and in addition to the tickets, it printed out 8 free small popcorn coupons!!! We ended up handing some out to those around us but of course we ate some, too! And we met some new furry friends while we were there Winking smile!

IMG_3013

IMG_3014

Following the great movie, we went to Uncle Julio’s for dinner.  It is a fabulous Mexican restaurant, and I got BBQ chicken quesadillas and of course the fantastic chips.  I also went out on a limb and got an alcoholic drink! WHAT?! It was called a Swirl and was a mix of frozen sangria and margarita! YUM.

2011-11-11_18-29-24_285

After dinner, we went home quickly before going out for a night of ridiculousness.  We met some of my sister’s friends and headed to DC for a night out.  We started off a Buffalo Billiards where we had a few drinks and met some amazing people.  That bar is amazing…they have shuffle board and skee ball! One of the people we met happened to be from the 90s boy band BBMak.  Yes, that’s right, we hung out high class with a celeb and his friends.  They may have been overly flirtatious with some of us in the group.  NBD.  They got us into the Eighth Street Lounge, too, where we finished off the night.

IMG_3019

IMG_3021

After a long night sleep, I headed back to Shippensburg.  I attempted to go to the gym, but it was closed.  Oh, well. Instead, I went to Trav’s house.  We went out to dinner and ice cream, and then just went to sleep early.  For dinner, we went to Isaac’s which is an awesome sandwich place.  I got grilled chicken with cheddar cheese, lettuce, cucumber, and olives on a pretzel roll with assorted potato chips!

2011-11-12_20-09-22_786

Today, we went to a brunch buffet at the local country club with his dad’s side of the family for an early Thanksgiving.  I definitely ate wayyy too much, and therefore did not work out yet again for fear of being sick.  I need to get back into it to lose the excess pounds I gained this weekend! Holy cow!

But for now, I am going to attempt to do some homework and organize my life to start the new week!

In the meantime, if you forgot about BBMak, check out this video:

Back Here

How was your weekend?

Anything special happen?

Anything to look forward to this weekend?

12 Comments

Filed under Friends, Life, Traveling, Weekend

12 responses to “Playing Catch-up and BBMak

  1. Glad things are looking better, funks are never fun 🙂 Looks like you had a great time with your sister – you two totally look alike!

  2. Glad you are feeling a bit better. Life funks are never good and if you ever need to chat-I’m here for ya. Seriously though, buying new socks is like gods gift to my life.

  3. Brittany @ Itty Bits of Balance

    What!? I can’t believe you met the guy from BBMak! I don’t specifically remember the band, but I do remember hearing their name pop up here and there in the 90’s. I hope you got his autograph 8)

  4. Er

    Omg that is so funny- definitely remember BBMak! Haha

    Hope everything is okay! We all need a break sometimes : )

  5. What a fun weekend! I can’t believe you met that guy from BBMak! How funny! My weekend was okay… I got to spend some time with my parents, but happened to get a virus :\ I am still sick today and hoping to feel 100% by tomorrow.

  6. What a fun weekend!! It seems like you and your sister really know how to have a good time together! I can’t wait until my 13 year old sister gets a bit older and can hang with me and enjoy all the things I like !

  7. What a fabulous weekend, I am glad you are feeling a better and out of the funk 🙂

  8. So happy your back and feeling better! Loving the bright socks 🙂 I want to see that movie too. I’m so horrible about watching them though. My attention span can be pretty spastic at times. That’s why I don’t go to the movies often. I usually wait until I can watch them at home, so I can take a break if I start losing focus! SO sad, I know 😀

  9. I love those socks! Nothing makes me happier than little things like that – the bright colors would be enough to get me out of a funk! It sounds like you guys had an awesome weekend. I hope me and my sister can be close like that when we get older!

  10. Pingback: Happy Blog-iversary! | Life After Swimming

  11. Pingback: Saturday Sillies | Life After Swimming

Leave a Reply

