Upcoming Races

Hey all!

Some of you may recall that I have a 5k this weekend and a 15k at the beginning of December.

Some of you may also recall that my hip/groin area has been acting kind of funky lately, and it has been causing me a lot of pain when I attempt to run more than like a mile…

Well, I think it is in my best interest that I make the decision to kind of take the focus away from both of these races in order to allow myself to heal and be prepared to train for the marathon I am running in May.

What I mean by that is that, if I have to walk them, I will walk.  My parents are walking the 5k this weekend, so it would be nice to spend some time with them. Plus, it is through Christmas lights, so it would be rather enjoyable.

My main focus is completing the marathon at this point, and if that means doing a few months of cross training in order to let my body recuperate and heal, then so be it.

This big epiphany came while I was attempting to run on the treadmill today.  I don’t have to kill myself to attempt to finish these races.  It would be nice to be able to continue exercising at the same pace so that I can try and fit back into my jeans, but I should just face it that this is my weight. I lose a few pounds and it all comes right back.  But that’s another story for another day.

I hope that this is the right decision for myself right now.   This also gives me the opportunity to enjoy my family this weekend because I am not going to be able to go home for Thanksgiving!

Have you ever taken focus off of a race in order to focus on another race or to allow your body to heal?

Do you think that I am making a wise decision?

22 Comments

Filed under Exercise, Life, Races

22 responses to “Upcoming Races

  1. Girl I understand your pain. I took two months off because of my stress fracture wahh. Hopefully you heal soon!

  2. I think taking time off to heal is always a good decision!

  3. Brittany @ Itty Bits of Balance

    This is definitely the wise decision to make. I’m telling you first hand– I killed myself while training for my first race and ended up with horrible shin splints which ultimately led to an entire month of no running. It was not exactly the best thing to do while trying to train for a race, and was absolutely discouraging :/

    In the long run (pun intended 😉 ) you will not regret taking time off!

  4. This decision is definitely the wise one… seriously you are amazing Nikki. Taking the time to heal is essential, something I need to do too and you are inspiring me to

  5. I wonder what the Christmas lights race is because I think I saw an advertisement for it!
    I think it is a good idea to let your body get ready for the marathon!!!

  6. Rest girlie! There’s nothing wrong with walking a 5K. Three miles is 3 miles! Running or not 😀 Hope you get all healed quickly!

  7. I think this is very wise and will help get you to the finish line of the marathon! I think it’s really important to listen to your body. Good luck!

  8. Your goal is the marathon… the other races are just steps toward it. Plus, I don’t know about you, but my primary goal is always to finish… time or performance are secondary. Hope you enjoy the time with the fam…

  9. hope your hip feels better sooN!
    and what a fun thing to do with your family! I love when a race is different than just run from one point to another- and the christmas season is my favorite!

  10. Oh no I hope you get better fast ! I have definitely had to sit out on races… for 13 races (uh oh, unlucky number!) this year! It’s so important to take care of yourself though. Walking the 5k with your parents will still be a good time though!

  11. I haven’t run at all in just about 2 months due to both hip & back injuries… it sucks but I need to run this marathon in May – so I totally feel your pain (literally… and figuratively) We’ll both appreciate the time off when we cross that finish line after 26.2 🙂

  12. Listening to your body is always the right choice so you made a wise decision!! That race looks really festive and fun!!

Leave a Reply

