Run Under the Lights 5k

As I mentioned, this past weekend, I spent time with my family at my sister’s in Maryland.

After finishing coaching my first ever high school swim practice (which went really well, btw), my friend Rachel and I packed up and headed to my sister’s house.

When we got there, Travis and my family were waiting for us.  We hung out for a bit before heading to the winter lights run/walk 5k near my sister’s house.  Before the recent hip pain, I had full intentions of running the race, but the game day decision was to walk instead.  I am pretty satisfied with my decision.  The hip is slowly becoming new again! WOOT WOOT. It’s all about baby steps!

IMG_3041

I really enjoyed this race.  I think I am even more happy that I walked so I could take the time to get pictures of the displays and enjoy the holiday season rather than determine whether or not I would die before the end Winking smile

IMG_3024

IMG_3053

IMG_3032

Plus, I got to chit chat with my family!

After the race, we headed to Mi Rancho for some Mexican cuisine.  I got soft chicken tacos with rice, and of course the delicioso tortilla chips and salsa.  I forgot to take a picture of them, but did snap a shot of our friend ice cream that we split Smile

IMG_3058

Sunday was our family Thanksgiving celebration.  My sister and I are both unable to make it home for the holiday, so we had an early celebration.  My grandma, some aunts and uncles, and also cousins joined us in an early turkey day.  We had all of the usual holiday food, plus the usual Italian holiday food.  And of course, tons of yummy desserts!

We also passed out our early Christmas present while we were at it.  Last week when I spent time with my sissy, we got our pictures professionally taken.  We got some framed and passed out our gifts this weekend!

sisters2

sisters9

All in all, it was an awesome weekend.  I stuffed my face hardcore, but I guess that’s ok.  Minus the fact that I am having trouble fitting into my clothes…

I think that’s my cue to head to the gym!

Oh, a special shout out to Beth from Running around my Kitchen! I won her giveaway!! Smile So excited for my Wright socks! Check her out!

Oh, and one last thing.  So we had to take some weird pictures at our photo shoot.  Here is one of the ehhh, winners… bahahaha

sisters10

How was your weekend?

Do you have any Thanksgiving traditions?

8 Comments

Filed under Family, Food, Friends, Life, Races, Weekend

8 responses to “Run Under the Lights 5k

  1. I’m glad the coaching went well! I was thinking about you 🙂

    I’m glad your hip is beginning to feel better and that you were happy with your decision to walk the 5k.

    What a good idea to get professional pictures taken to give as a gift.. I know my parents would love that and the last one is such a winner haha!!!

  2. Kristen @ livinlifeinlouie

    Sounds like an awesome weekend! my family got professonal pictures for my mom and dad a few years ago (my brothers werent too happy haha)

  3. My sister & I just got professional pictures taken for my mom this past Mother’s Day. Why the heck do those places make everyone do such weird poses?!

  4. Awe that looks like so much fun. I seriously am getting professionals done for my Christmas present too. Could we be anymore twin like?

  5. I am so glad your hip is starting to feel better… walking the 5k was definitely the right decision
    And those pictures are wonderful!

  6. What a great weekend! I wish we had a run/walk under the lights. It’s so funny that you and your sister took a professional picture–I was thinking of doing the same for my parents as a gift.

  7. E

    Glad your meet went well!

    I can’t believe the holiday season is upon us!

  8. My husband loooves fried ice cream! Your run looks like it was a lot of fun!

Leave a Reply

