Post-Holiday Return

Phew…It has been quite some time since I have sat down and entered the blog world. But don’t worry, I am back after a nice break full of football, stuffing my face, coaching, and hanging with my second family.

I left Shippensburg and headed to Trav’s house last Wednesday to watch him take part in his high school’s Turkey Bowl football game.  It is an alumni game in which previous students play and cheer for their alma mater.

IMG_3069

IMG_3112

IMG_3108

It was pretty fun to bond with Trav’s family, cheer for my darling, and watch him play with his uncle and friends. We were sitting pretty high up, though, so it was hard to get a good picture!

IMG_3104

Thanksgiving was spent at Travis’ house.  We ate lots of yummy food, obviously.  There was also a lot of post food napping.  And his mama and I actually went for a walk in the beautiful weather.

I was also a little adventurous and tried something new: Shoo-fly pie!  I had never heard of it until venturing into Pennsylvania Dutch scene. For those of you who don’t know, it is basically pie crust, molasses, and sugary crumble on top.  Needless to say, I found my new favorite pie!

When I mentioned that we actually went for a walk on Thanksgiving, I meant that that is the most physical activity I have done all week.  My stupid hip/groin area has not being feeling well STILL.  If I had more time in my day, I would go to the doctor and get it checked out.  I am hoping that within the next few weeks, I will get it checked out so that I am good to go for marathon training!

After Thanksgiving, I headed back to Shippensburg to coach.  Later Friday afternoon, Travis joined me Smile. We went to the mall at like 4 p.m. on Black Friday, and it actually wasn’t very crazy.  The lines were short but most sales were still strong! Got a few gifts for family and friends and a few decorations for the house!

I think Geno was really happy about this one…

IMG_3113

IMG_3117

IMG_3118

Our last purchase didn’t last very long:

IMG_3116

The rest of the weekend has been full of relaxing, watching Christmas movies, and working on homework.  More relaxing than anything, but such is life! Procrastination for the win!

Hope you all had a great holiday! And if you’re like me, I hope you’re getting pumped for Christmas!

Anything big happening in the new week?

Anyone else ready for the semester to end?

19 Comments

Filed under Family, Food, Life, Traveling, Weekend

19 responses to “Post-Holiday Return

  1. Nothing too exciting happening in the week except that I have the day off tomorrow! I am excited for a good workout at the gym and to shop! Loving the picture of Geno in front of the advent tree.

  2. LOL Geno looks SUPER happy! 😀 That football game sounds like fun!

  3. Girl I totally feel you. I am so ready for the semester to end. I keep thinking about it like every five seconds. 🙂

  4. I am so sorry that your hip is STILL bugging you 😦 I went through the same kind of issue with my knee all summer before cross country training camp, Ugh. Being patient helps 🙂

    I can’t wait for the semester to end! I loved seeing the pictures of Trav playing football, that is such a cool event idea!

  5. OMG, Geno looks so cute but so angry!

  6. Aww I am sorry your hip is still bothering you! Never fun at all 😦 I am sure it will feel better soon though, just have to keep resting and doing what you need to 🙂
    Ha I am loving the kitty pictures! He does look a bit pissed though lol

  7. That pie looks really good, but the description doesn’t make it sound good…. I might have to try it though! Sorry about the hip and don’t worry – the end of the semester is right around the corner 🙂

  8. hope your hip feels better ASAP!

  9. shoo fly pie…hmm rings a bell. Fly’s in the buttermilk SHOO FLY SHOO! Oh high school swimming days…Enjoying your blog nikki!!!

Leave a Reply

