Cookies and Crème Cookies

Ok, the secret’s out.  I am officially not Betty Crocker.  But I am taking part in a cookie exchange this weekend, and I have very little time this week to bake so I made my cookies today.

After searching Pinterest for practically hours, I found what I feel is a perfectly unique recipe.

Cookies and crème cookies.

YUM.

I went to the store, got enough ingredients for 2 batches (I need 4-5 dozen cookies for the weekend), and got to baking!

IMG_3156

They may not look as pretty as the website, but they taste pretty yummy! The first batch got a little crispy on the bottom, but I will just spread those out through the different plates so that someone doesn’t get stuck with all the bad ones…bahahaha.

Here’s the recipe!

Cookies and Crème Cookies

  • 2 sticks butter or margarine (1 cup)
  • 1 1/4 cup white sugar
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 1/2 tsp pure vanilla
  • 1/2 cup dark cocoa powder (I used Hershey’s Special Dark), but if you don’t like dark, just use regular cocoa powder.
  • 2 1/4 cups AP flour
  • 1/4 tsp Kosher salt
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 1 cup mini semi-sweet chocolate chips
  • 12 oz. Hershey’s Cookies and Creme drops

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Cream together butter and sugar until fluffy and light. Beat in eggs and vanilla. On low, slowly beat in cocoa powder until well incorporated. On low mix in your remaining dry ingredients (flour, baking powder and salt). Fold in you Cookies and Crème drops and chocolate chips until evenly incorporated. Drop by large tablespoonful on a parchment lined baking sheet. I recommend under baking these.  So bake for approximately 12 minutes or until edges are set. When done baking, let cool on baking sheet for 2-3 minutes before transferring to wire rack to finish cooling.

IMG_3157

IMG_3159

IMG_3166

IMG_3169

Let me tell you, they sure are yummy! And some of them just happened to fall apart when I was taking them off of the tray…oops! Guess I have to eat ‘em. Makes up for me burning my arm a bit on the ovenSad smile.

Oh, and I may or may not have made a big mess…

IMG_3165

Anddd the cookies took much longer than expected, so I didn’t get my afternoon workout in.  I guess I will have to try and hit up the gym after class if we don’t get out too late!

Now all I have to do is spread them out by half dozen and wrap them up to swap with the girls this weekend! I am super pumped!

Have you ever taken part in a cookie exchange?

Ever made this type or tried similar cookies?

20 Comments

Filed under Food, Recipes

20 responses to “Cookies and Crème Cookies

  1. My baking messes are a lot worse than that haha so dont feel bad! they look great.

  2. Ahhh you know me. I’m a budding Betty Crocker! I wish there were muffin exchanges, but I participate in the cookie exchanges instead. These sound so good. I’m obsessed with the cookies and cream drops!

  3. love cookie exchanges!!!! and those cokies look amazing! If you ever need help making sweets- IM YOUR GIRL! haha. If I can’t make them, I will help taste tem haha

  4. Yumm yay for cookie exchanges! Whoever gets these is a lucky duck 🙂

  5. AAHAHAHAHAHA. I just died. That is the secret of my life as well. 🙂 But anyways-the cookies still look like the bomb. 🙂

  6. Brittany @ Itty Bits of Balance

    Is this for the Great Cookie Blogger Swap that I’ve seen advertised on the blogosphere, or for something else? Great choice in ingredients– Will loved the Hershey’s cookies and cream bars so I’m sure he could DOWN all 3 dozen of those in a heartbeat 😉

    • It’s actually for a swap I am doing with my sister and some of her friends. We each bring 4 dozen cookies divided into half dozen and swap them until we have a half dozen of everyone’s cookies! I am soooo excited to try what everyone makes!

  7. The ladies in my family always do a cookie swap, that way we all don’t have to make 12 different kinds! These look delicious! And I can sympathize with the baking mess… my kitchen is a disaster zone while I bake!

  8. Kim @ Eat, Live, and Blog

    Yum, those cookies looks delicious!! 🙂

  9. E

    Those cookies look awesome! I’ve never made anything quite like that, I should give them a shot : )

  10. I’m having a cookie swap party in a few weeks! I am thinking of making Almond Joy Doughy Cookies I saw on Lemon Grove Avenue blog..

Leave a Reply

