Thankful Tears of Joy

Ok, I have had a lot of time during my never-ending days to think about things that I am thankful for.

For instance, Wednesday night, my roommate attempted to take a shower but determined that we had no hot water.  And about an hour later, our house was also freezing.  We narrowed it down to an empty oil supply, called the landlord, and had to wait about a day before we had heat again in our apartment. 

Way #1 in which I have recognized knew ways in which I forever thankful: the ability to live in a spacious apartment with heat, hot water, and electricity.  Things I often take for granted.

Way #2 in which I am thankful: I have an amazing mama, papa, and puppy who sent me an early Christmas gift to help me get in the holiday spirit (and to also help me keep sane during the last week and a half of the semester).

My own copy of The Muppets Christmas CD! Smile Definitely listening to this on repeat for the next 23 days few months.

2011-12-02_12-17-08_556

Way #3 in which I am thankful: Amazing people that work for amazing causes.  And the ability to afford all of the necessities comforts I have. 

Pittsburgh’s awesome 96.1 KISS FM does a yearly Toys for Tots drive at the Miracle Mile in Monroeville.  This year, the station and the community donated enough toys to fill 28 BUSSES worth of Christmas presents.  My mom called me earlier and told me she just stopped by before they finished the drive.  I looked up pictures from the event, and was immediately brought to tears by pictures of Marines, children, and others layering their toys on busses.  They also had practically a whole parking lot worth of bicycles for children to enjoy. It made me very thankful for what I have.  I even splurged and bought a bike for myself over the summer that way 800 dollars.  And there are many children who cannot even afford a single toy.  I wish so badly that I were home for the Stuff A Bus drive. 

Here are some pictures from the days of bus stuffing:

To see more amazing pictures from the event, go to the Stuff a Bus 2011 Picture page!

Way #4: I am also thankful for the ability to fuel myself with as much food as I need to fill my belly.  Such as this amazing Luna bar that tastes like Thin Mint Girl Scout cookies…it definitely made having to work at 6:30 this mornign a little more enjoyable…

2011-12-02_07-50-07_742

There are so many things that I don’t even realize I am thankful for until I am put in a situation that puts it into perspective.

For the month of December, I am setting one goal for myself: I am going to try and focus on the reasons I should be thankful in my life rather than the things I usually think about (such as weight, insecurities, stressful situations, etc).  There is no reason to focus on the negatives when there are so many positive things all around me!

And for now, I am off to clean up, do a little yoga, and pack so that I can head to my sister’s this evening after coaching.  My Hot Chocolate 15k is in the morning, and I am going to listen to my body.  If it hurts to run, I am going to walk.  It is what’s best.  God’s given my my health; I shouldn’t focus on the negatives.  There’s a light in every situation.

Do you ever find yourself being thankful for things you had previously taken for granted?

Do you have fun plans for this weekend?

5 Comments

Filed under Exercise, Family, Goals, Life, Weekend

5 responses to “Thankful Tears of Joy

  1. Brittany @ Itty Bits of Balance

    I LOVE this idea! It correlates perfectly with what I’m trying to do with my 25 Days of Thanks series 😀

    Sometimes we become so wrapped up in all things Christmas that we forget what the holiday is truly about. It’s great that you are keeping that in mind

  2. Awe this is too cute! It makes me realize all the things I’m thankful for too! My heating was bad a couple months ago and that made me really think about it.

  3. I love the Toys for Tots drive! We just started taking donations for it at work this week. A trip to the toy store is in my near future! 😀

  4. This is such a lovely post Nikki! The Toys for Tots drive is wonderful and obviously so essential during this time of the year 🙂
    p.s. must try that Luna bar now that you told me it tastes like Thin Mints!!

  5. defiantly a way we should all look at our lives- there is always something to be thankful for! thank you for the reminder

Leave a Reply

