Hot Chocolate 15k Race Recap

Howdy, y’all! Before I jump to the race recap, I just wanted to put my life into context for you and help you understand why I don’t want to do any work.  My research class consists of 200 points.  100 of those points is from an exam. The other 100 points if from a 20+ page research paper.  Well, I got 100/100 on the exam…therefore, I have no motivation to do the research paper…Quite the dilemma. 

Good thing blog writing can occupy my time fairly well. I am going to save reading blogs from the weekend until tomorrow, but I figured I would recap part of my weekend with you now!

Yesterday morning, I ran the DC Hot Chocolate 15k in the National Harbor.

IMG_3170

For those of you with Twitter, you may have realized that there were a lot of hard feelings associated with the race.

For one, it started over an hour late.  For me, this meant standing outside in the cold weather for over two hours.  I was nice and warmed up for the race, but by the time it started, my whole body was shivering and tense.

My sister, cousin, and friend had planned on running the race together.  If it would have started any later, we would have had to skip out completely in order to make it back to our hotel in time for checkout.  In reality, my sister and friend stopped early to head back in time! They only ran about 5 miles of the race.  And my cousin and I didn’t even get any hot chocolate or chocolate fondue in order to head back and check out of the hotel.  That kind of put a damper in it, and we still didn’t even check out on time.

IMG_3171

But the race itself went fairly well.  You most likely have heard me complain about the pain I have been feeling in my hip lately.  I was more than prepared to have to walk this race due to the hip/groin and lack of training.  But my cousin and I started running together and it felt pretty good.  I didn’t go all out and I walked two hills but I ran majority of the race. And, I iced it out after so hopefully that helps!

My final time was 1:33.39, which isn’t as fast as my half marathon pace, but under the circumstances, I would say it is pretty good for myself!

I did wake up this morning barely able to move my legs, but oh well…I have a month of strictly cross training to help let my body heal in time to start training for my marathon!

Now, I guess I am going to have some of my own hot chocolate to make up for the lack of any yesterday and attempt to get some writing done!

As soon as I can, I will fill you in on my awesome cookie party from yesterday! Smile

How was your weekend?

Anyone else run the Hot Chocolate 5k or 15k?

23 Comments

Filed under Races, Running

23 responses to “Hot Chocolate 15k Race Recap

  1. Awesome job, I’m so glad you felt good enough to run it! I know someone else running it and she was NOT HAPPY about the delay 🙂 I’m running the Dallas one in Feb! Congrats on your paper!

  2. I’m so glad you were able to run it! I heard nothing but terrible reviews from it actually which saddens me because it could have been so good. Congrats for the paper girl!

  3. Well I am proud of you for sticking out the race anyways, injury and all!
    I also ran a festive 5k this weekend, but I feel like I had better luck organization wise.

    WAY TO GO GIRLIE! A half marathon is amazing anyway you run it in my books! Make yourself a cup of hot chocolate and bask in your post-race fabulous-ness!

  4. Wow what the heck? I’d be so pissed if it started an hour late in the freezing cold… dang.

    good job on your exam… I know some times writing a paper sucks but hang in there! 🙂

  5. Brittany @ Itty Bits of Balance

    Gah, an hour late!? That’s pretty upsetting considering you most likely paid money to enter the race. Regardless, things happen. At least you got a no pain running experience out of it? 8)

  6. An hour late is pretty crazy.. I would have been so cold! Good job on the test… you can do the paper!!! WOOO!!!!

  7. Kim @ Eat, Live, and Blog

    Awesome job on your race! Hot chocolate race sounds great! 🙂

  8. I didn’t hear good things about this race, but I’m glad you were able to run it without much pain!! That’s a good sign. It’s a bummer that you missed out on the fondue – that would probably have been my whole reason for signing up!

  9. Racing for hot cocoa sounds like the best thing in the world!! I hope that your legs are feeling better and that your week is off to a great start! xoxo!

  10. I heard this race was a complete sh*t show! I would have been real pissed if I had payed all of that money and had everything happen that did… yeeshe. I was creeping on FB and twitter all day on Sunday reading about people’s thoughts on the race… funny stuff sometimes 🙂
    Having said all of that, I am so so glad you were able to run without pain and had an overall successful race! You should be proud Nikki 😀

  11. the race started an hour late! why?!? how frustrating!
    but at least you had people to wait w/ you and Im glad to hear your hip didn’t hurt too much
    Hot chocolate=my love haha

  12. That’s a great time! That is aggravating that it started so late though!

Leave a Reply

