Random Ranting

Ok this is going to be a collection of randomness from my life as of late:

1. Sunday, Travis and I went on a walk around town.  Sometimes, Shippensburg has really pretty old buildings.  It was a beautiful day for a walk!

IMG_3183

IMG_3184

IMG_3187

2. Last night, I stayed up semi-late (past 10:30) to finish an awesome book: Secret Daughter by Shilpi Somaya Gowda.  It is about a girl who is put up for adoption in India in a time where having baby girls was frowned upon.  Duh, girls were good for nothing Sad smile. The story is about how she was adopted and her journey to India for a study abroad program.  Great book…I recommend reading it!

3. Today, I had my final session of my one class for the semester.  Let me just say…it was QUITE challenging! First, we surprised the one student who is graduating with his master’s next week by having chips, cookies, crackers and cheese, drinks, and pizza.  Then, we watched the Breakfast Club…which is one of my all-time favorite movies! It was the most challenging final I have ever taken! We did talk about how the characters in the movie relate to students we have learned about who are socially maladjusted, emotionally disturbed, etc.  I attempted phone pictures…they could have been better…

2011-12-06_18-27-47_717

2011-12-06_18-41-52_149

4. While being my random self, I determined the hardest adjustment I have been making during my post-swimming life: shaving my legs.  Now, don’t call me gross.  Being a real girl can be kind of tough! For the past eight years, I haven’t shaved more than 2 times from the months of August and February.  Returning to real girl status is quite a tough adjustment.  I had to force myself to shave today so I could wear capris to the gym!  I thought I was going to cut myself like crazy, but surprisingly I came away clean. Phew!

Oh, Google images, how I love thee…

5.  I am currently on page 20 of my research paper.  20 and counting! Oh, wait…isn’t that a show or something?

6.  I am coaching my first swim meet on Saturday! A coaching update: I love it! It is nice to be on the other side of the swimming scene! Winking smile

Otay, I think that’s all the randomness that was squished into my head.

Do you ever have days were your head just runs around like crazy? That’s my life.

What’s something random floating around in your mind?

15 Comments

Filed under Book, Life

15 responses to “Random Ranting

  1. Random thought of the day: Why does Starbucks allow the older woman to run the register in the morning when people just want coffee > chit chat? Why can’t they just put her on pastry/bagel/wrap duty and talk to people over the counter? Why must she be so nice but so annoying at 7:30 in the morning?

    Another random thought: Why does Shippensburg’s Library only open at 7:30 AM. Why are we the ONLY school who doesn’t have a 24/7 library…? Hmmmmmm…?

    • OMG I totally agree! She is the gab-fest queen! And as for the library hours, SO STUPID. At least make it like 6 – 12 or something. I don’t find that unreasonable! Even the gym is open earlier! Which reminds me, I really need to get there.. hahah Oh, and sorry about this week. When are you free next week?!

  2. Good luck coaching your first swim meet on Saturday! Hope it goes well!

  3. The Breakfast Club is one of my favorite movies too!

  4. I am totally the same way with my legs after xc season. Luckily my hair is really light and grows super slow, so I’m in the clear but I’m meeting with a new trainer on Friday so I figure I should probably change that!

  5. i feel ya on the ranting! But that’s so fun that your final was an easy, fun class with friends 🙂

  6. Hahaha.. the shaving legs picture = MY LIFE. I just can’t adjust to it. I don’t want to shave!!!

  7. The Breakfast Club is a great movie, nice choice ) And good luck at the meet! I so feel ya on the ranting btw

  8. Kristen @ livinlifeinlouie

    love your randoms! (and the picture of the hairy swimmer legs haha) Random thought: I want an iphone~

  9. Yay for the end of the semester!!! 😀

  10. hehehe I SO agree with you on the LEG HAIR shaving! both my club and college coach would not allow us to shave more than 2x a year!…I graduated in 2009 and it has taken me two years to get the shaving 2x/week down! 🙂 living by the beach is my only motivation! xoxo!

Leave a Reply

