HOME?!

If you haven’t caught on by now, I work 4 jobs.  Yep, that’s right.  The life of a poor college grad student.

First, I work a few hours a week at the gym on campus.  I did this as an undergrad and continued into grad school.

Second, I work as a grad assistant for the microcomputer department on campus.  As a special education major, it has nothing to do with my degree, but it does take me back to the days in which I worked at the Library of Congress.

Right now, I am at this job.  This is me being stoked to finish up my last shift of the semester:

2011-12-16_12-50-32_802

Welp, I think I need a life.

Third, I am an assistant swim coach for the local high school swim team.

And for job number four, I substitute teach when possible.

With the jobs, class, and workouts, heading home to see the family is rare.  And makes it so that my Christmas break consists of only 2 weekends home (4 whole days…), but at least I don’t have class for a month!

BUT ALAS! I get to go home to Pittsburgh this weekend to see my lovely family.  It is the Popsicle’s (my dad) birthday! Travis is also coming home with me.

Tomorrow afternoon, we are heading to lunch with some of my best friends.  Majority of my friends from high school swam with me, and we have planned a little luncheon at Eat’n Park for some smiles Smile.  Eat’n Park is the place for smiles, you know!

You best believe I am getting a smiley cookie! Open-mouthed smile

After that, though, is when the real fun begins! My parents, Trav, and I are heading into town for the Penguins hockey game against the Sabres!

It’s Trav’s first Pens game so he is really excited.

Sorry, Trav, I may love me some hockey, but I am more excited for this:

Evgeni Malkin has a huge place in my heart.  I guess you could say I have a thing for goofy looking, gangly guys.  C’mon, that’s where Geno got his name, and you all know how much I love my little kitty!

Although, I think I like this picture of him better…

image

I told Travis I was going to the Sunglass Boutique, I guess I forgot to mention with whom I was going Winking smile

Too bad the other Pens cutie pie is out again with more concussion complications Sad smile .

We will miss you out there, Sid!

Though it’s safe to say that tall, skinny guys take the cake for my favorite build (ahem, cross country runners … I know, I am a nerd), hockey players have it going on as well. As long as they have teeth (or at least pretend to Winking smile).

Also on the agenda for the weekend: wrapping Christmas gifts, and of course celebrating Dad’s birthday!

Can’t wait to be home! About an hour more work, coaching, and then helping out at graduation for master’s students tonight, then Travis and I are hitting the high road home.

Are you a hockey fan?

What are your weekend plans?

4 Comments

Filed under Life, Traveling, Weekend

4 responses to “HOME?!

  1. Kim @ Eat, Live, and Blog

    4 jobs?! You definitely need a break. I hope you will enjoy your time at home! 🙂

  2. You go girl! 4 jobs is awesome! I bet you will appreciate it when you only have 1 or 2!

    Yay for Eat n Park! I <3333 it there!!!

  3. 4 jobs? Wow. That’s incredible!

    Nothing too much planned for the weekend, hoping to hit the tumble gym and rock gym for some fun. Hopefully won’t reinjure anything in the process!

  4. You are my inspiration. Four jobs good gosh.

Leave a Reply

