Taco Salad Fueled Training

Before I get into today’s post, I just wanted to say how astounded I was with everyone’s responses on my post from yesterday.  You all gave me some great suggestions on how to get through this low point, and you also showed me once again how supportive and amazing the people around me can be Smile.  I am going to take some of these suggestions and turn them into action…step one already happened today!  A few of you had said to sign up for sparkpeople.com, and I did it today.  I am not perfect with it, yet, but if you’re on, my username is ikkint213…you can find me because I have not yet figured out how to find others Winking smile.

And now back to the real purpose: yesterday I started running for my marathon training.  And my hip is not quite right still.  It felt great while on my 3 mile run, but since then, it has been tight as heck.  Blah.  I guess it’s time that I finally find a doctor at school.  The health center on campus is less than up to speed on injury, so I think it’s best if I find my own doctor since my normal one is 2+ hours away.  

IMG_3526

Oh ya, and about 2.8 miles into my 3 mile run, my knee locked up and it was really strange.  I have never had that happen before.  I ended up walking the rest of the way home Sad smile but at least I had my trusty Garmin companion with me.  It was actually the first time I ran with it!

But you know what happened before my run? I fueled up with an AWESOME taco salad (minus any meat).  I had been gifted a single serve bag of Doritos from a swimmer who doesn’t like them (is that even allowed?).  So I decided to crunch them atop some romaine, cucumber, green pepper, black olives, and a little cheddar cheese.  Topped with some Catalina French dressing, and it totally hit the spot.

IMG_3519

IMG_3521

I was supposed to run again today but it turned into a 40 minute at-home spin session while watching 2 episodes of Modern Family.  I had never watched it before, but started yesterday.  I guess I have a lot of catching up to do! 

And then, this happened: 

IMG_3529

IMG_3528

Geno made himself at home within my messy closet.

Oh, and then after, this happened:

2012-01-05_13-45-07_145

Geno tried drinking my smoothie.  He didn’t get very far.  I am pretty overprotective when it some to my smoothies!

Do any of you have cats who try to eat all of your food?

What’s your favorite type of salad?

6 Comments

Filed under Cycling, Food, Life, Running, Training

6 responses to “Taco Salad Fueled Training

  1. dayglows

    My closet looks exactly like that… my jeans and sweats are falling everywhere. Sadly, no cats in my closet though. My mom began feeding strays a few years ago but they won’t let anyone but her pet them. At least their not drinking my smoothies 😉

    I love Greek salads! Taco may be a close second though.

  2. My closet looks just like yours, but instead of a kitty, my little son loves to go in there and pull my clothes off the shelves. Is it humanly possible to not like Doritos. I’m pretty sure they’re carefully crafted in a lab somewhere to ensure that everyone can’t pass by them in the supermarket without thinking twice about buying them.
    I love salads of all kinds but my fav to get when I eat out is a Greek Salad.

  3. What a yummy looking taco salad! Perfect workout fuel if you ask me! 😀

  4. Kristen @ livinlifeinlouie

    that salad looks amazing! I love crainraisin pecan salads. but I can never find a dressing that I like.

  5. My family’s cat LOVES to try to steal food. He’s gone so far to hop up on the chair to try and get some of dinner! (even when its vegetarian night, lol! Silly cat!). He’s also mastered the art of weaving around your feet while you’re carrying food so you HAVE to drop something for him to eat less you want to trip, fall, and drop the food (which he eats). Either way kitty-cat ends up getting food!

  6. Wow I’ve never even thought of doing that on top of my salad. What a grand idea. My cat is a little bit psycho and has no problems stealing anyones food. Rude.

Leave a Reply

