Swimming Update

Well, remember when I told you that I was going to go for a swim last night? Turns out the life guard never showed up and I had to do some yoga instead.  You win some, you lose some, right?

Same with my swimmers this evening. It was the big rival meet, and although we didn’t go down without a fight, both teams unfortunately lost.  It definitely wasn’t because they didn’t want it, though.  They swam phenomenally!  The girls rebroke their 400 free relay record, too! Smile There were also a lot of really close races.  Not as close as this though:

Thinking about that race still gives me the chills.

And speaking of relays, I forgot to tell you about what I did last week.  I swam in my first relay since January! I swam with a group of young’ins including the little girl I mentor.  It was totally awesome, and reminded me that swimming can be fun as well as challenging.  I also had to go twice because our team had one less person in it.  Let me tell you, I was pathetically dead! haha I NEED to get back in shape!

My marathon training is going fairly well though.  Few aches and pains here and there, but hopefully they all work themselves out.

Good thing I will be getting up in my mileage soon.  I definitely could use a few more calories burned, especially because I am a HUGE fat kid at heart.  I found this post called Fat Girl Problems today on a friend’s Facebook wall, and it is so true.  Story of my life!

Hi, I’m Nikki.  And I have Fat Girl Problems.

Well, Glee and New Girl are back on tonight so you know what I am doing!

Plus I work at 6:30 tomorrow morning so I have to get a good night sleep!

G’night all!

12 Comments

Filed under Life, Swimming, Training

12 responses to “Swimming Update

  1. Good to see that your training is going well! Congrats to your team too!! It must be fun to have done a relay. I can totally agree that swimming is a challenge!! I did some swimming today and that sport is no joke!

  2. sorry to hear about the swim not working out, and the meet. but I love that picture of michael phelps! I still remember watching that!

  3. WAHH. I saw that on DM earlier. I would have murdered the lifeguard…but I’m a little craycray. That ace is so close. One time I missed a qual time in the mile by literally (I kid you not) .01 of a second. In the mile!! That was probably the closest race of my life and forever.

  4. Kim @ Eat, Live, and Blog

    I’m glad your marathon training is going well! I can’t swim so I envy those that can. I’m glad you a great time at the relay. It must’ve been exciting.

    I love New Girl! Can’t wait to watch it tonight. 🙂

  5. Haha, my swim coach brings up that race finish wayyyy too often! I think he just sent out an email with a link to a video of it lol.

  6. Yes, swimming can totally be fun 🙂 I’m glad you got in!

  7. Congrats on the 400! And glad you are back swimming again… it will be amazing for you and marathon training too!

  8. Glad to hear about your training – keep it up! I need to get back in the pool, too… but it’s soooo cold!

    and OMGIKNOW that race was amazing. I’m was on the edge of my seat yelling at the TV. GAH.

  9. That is a REALLY close finish!

Leave a Reply

