I am alive.

Ok well it has been quite some time since my last post.  It has been even longer since my last workout.

But the dry spell is over.

My life has been ever so hectic lately. From Wednesday until Sunday, I don’t think I had a minute to breathe.  It definitely affected my personality, my eye twitched, and I know that my outlook was less than positive.

The most terrifying part was Saturday morning: I had CPR recertification 30 minutes away, but woke up to a horrible snowstorm.  I called the Red Cross over and over but got no response.  I didn’t want to waste 90 dollars though, so I headed to the training.  Luckily, I made it despite horrible road conditions.  I said quite a few prayers on my way there, and luckily the class was still being held!

After training, I spent the rest of the weekend at Trav’s house.  We went to a party for his work and then just hung out. In all the hustling, I didn’t take a single picture. We also watched Secretariat and I loved it!

It was definitely nice to just relax for a bit, though I ate WAYYYYY too much and can feel it today.  On a side note, the Pens beat the Caps yesterday Smile. I love Penguins hockey!

Today was going to be another rushed and hectic day, but the local schools were all closed today due to ice so swim practice was canceled.  In place of coaching, I met a few of the swimmers at the local pool and swam with them.

Let me tell you:  hardest 5300 yards of my life.  I know for many, 5300 seems like a TON but I used to be able to do that fairly simply.  This was the longest swim that I have done since last January.  Yep, that was a year ago…

I will say, I was rather impressed with myself.

Here’s what I did:

500 yard warmup

2 rounds:
6 x 25 drill @ :40
3 x 50 build @ 1:00
2 x 75 @ 1:10

8 x 100 @ 1:30
2 x 50 stroke @ 1:00 (alternate ez/hard)
6 x 100 @ 1:35
4 x 50 stroke @ 1:00 (alternate ez/hard)
4 x 100 @ 1:30
6 x 50 stroke @ 1:00 (alternate ez/hard)
2 x 100 @ 1:30
8 x 50 stroke @ 1:00 (alternate ez/hard)

1 x 300 ez recovery

12 x 25 @ 30 : 1/2 Hard/easy, 1/2 easy/hard, 1 easy, 1 hard

300 cooldown

5300 total in about 1 hour and 45 minutes.

My calves cramped up and I am currently dead.  And I am afraid that if I take a nap, I won’t wake up for class tonight.  But oh well. I got a great workout in.  Though the absence of 3 days of working out cannot be beneficial to the marathon training.  At least it isn’t until May Sad smile

Ok, back to what I was doing.  Eating Chobani on a tortilla, organizing my emails, and watching Ellen.  The worst quality picture ever taken proves it:

2012-01-23_15-41-13_22

Hopefully you’ll be hearing from me more often.  Life will be a little less hectic as soon as the swim season is starting to wear down! Tomorrow night is their senior night!  Though it will be nice for some more free time, I love coaching and will miss it a lot!

Hope you all are loving life! Smile

9 Comments

Filed under Exercise, Swimming, Weekend

9 responses to “I am alive.

  1. daaang girl that is a lot of yards.

    also I seriously just bought that exact chobani. yum.

    it’s raining here. :/ raining = no swimming for me (if I’m by myself I cant tell if there’s lightening) I havent swam in a whileeee

    lesigh.

  2. dayglows

    yayyy you’re back and you survived the snow storm! My mom kept complaining to me about it.

    That’s an awesome swim workout. I don’t know if I could do 5300 right now. You forget how much upper body strength you lose when you stop swimming. If I had to do stroke and do fly, I would definitely drown after one 50. I was doing some during my workout last week and I wanted to do… what happened to being a 200 butterflyer? Major kudos to you.

  3. Brittany @ Itty Bits of Balance

    Gah, it sounds like you’ve had quite a lot going on! And wow, that swim is pretty impressive– I doubt I’d even make it past 1 lap… haha

  4. Nice yardage girl. I was in PA when that crazy snow storm happened. It was so crazy but I’m glad you made it through girl to get to your CPR class.

  5. Wowsa that is one kick butt workout, I am impressed! I would say that workout made up for your three day absence. You go!!

  6. Oh man, go you on getting to your class despite the snow storm…that’s amazing that you went anyway!

  7. Glad you made it to class safely!! And crazy that you guys are having snow storms… the weather is in the 50s and 60s here, haha! It’s been a crazy winter.

  8. Kim @ Eat, Live, and Blog

    Your swim is pretty impressive!
    Glad you made it to class safely through bad weather.
    Have a great day! 🙂

  9. I love that swim workout! I dont think I would be able to swim 5300 yards now (havent swam in a year) But maybe someday! haha

Leave a Reply

