Buffalo Cravings

After having made some yummy buffalo chicken dip over the weekend, I have been craving spicy things like crazy.  If you know anything about me, that’s very unusual.  I used to complain that barbeque chips were too spicy.

Today was the first night that I actually had time to make myself something yummy to eat, though, so I finally busted out the hot sauce and got down to business.  I have also been in the mood for tacos lately.  So I kind of combined the two.

First, I cooked some chicken on the stove and added a little salt and pepper.  After that, I added the chicken to another pan with some sliced green bell pepper and a little bit of Red Hot sauce.  After a few minutes of simmering and cooking, my belly was grumbling.

IMG_3636

Put it all on a wrap, add a little cheddar and some lettuce, and it was ready for me to nom.

IMG_3638

IMG_3641

Not just one, but two of these bad boys were consumed in about 2 minutes tops.

I was very pleased with my simple creation Smile.

What I am not pleased about, though, is the pain that is still lingering in my shins. 

image

I posed this question and got a lot of great responses.  Most of them said to lay off running for a while.  It kind of bums me out because I really want to be able to finish this race.  Do you think I will still be ok to complete the marathon even with taking a few weeks off?

I feel like I get injured seriously more than any person ever should.  I promise I am not a hypochondriac! I really hurt a lot!  Anyone want to give me their legs (and right shoulder while I am at it in case I am stuck with a life full of just swimming…)?

Have you ever taken the focus off of training in order to recover from injury?

Are you a fan of spicy food? If so, what are your favorite spicy recipes?

11 Comments

Filed under Food, Recipes, Training

11 responses to “Buffalo Cravings

  1. I’m not a big fan of spicy but that looks really tasty!

  2. Brittany @ Itty Bits of Balance

    I think you will be fine! To be honest, I took 3 weeks off BEFORE my marathon. I ended up getting shin splints too, and after a long conversation with my coach, she advised me that if I wasn’t going for a time goal, it would be best to relax a bit.

    In the meantime, ICE ICE ICE!

  3. I’m actually a huge fan of spicey. Give me all of it.

    Anyways-as far as shin splints, I’d relax off of it. It could turn into a stress fracture…maybe not. You can cross train and keep your endurance for a while! 🙂

  4. As someone who had shin splints FOR A YEAR (honestly it probably turned in to a stress fracture at some point), just stop. Go do something else, ice, and STRETCH. Put in some more pool time in lieu of running.

    and by the way I want your food… except the tortilla lolz

  5. Oh heyyyy. Last Pittsburgh Marathon I took 3 weeks off of training due to an IT Band Issue and missed 2, 20 mile runs…and still finished with a PR. No worries dear. 🙂

    • Ok 🙂 that comment definitely made me feel a bit better! I just want to finish it. That is all. I know I am not the best runner but I don’t care! Hopefully I am ok in the end and my legs are still in tact 🙂

  6. Kristen @ livinlifeinlouie

    i LOVEE spicey food. the wrap looks delicious!

Leave a Reply

