Super Bowl Feast

Saying we had a feast during the big game would be an understatement.  My roommate and I had a few friends and boy friends over for the game last night.  We each made a few dips, snacks, and desserts, and needless to say, my belly was quite full before the game even started!

Here’s a little run down of what was munched on:

IMG_3693

Purple rice krispie treats (my fave color) and M&M cookies from my mama

IMG_3694

Seven layer dip, buffalo chicken dip, pizza dip, and chips

IMG_3696

Mini turkey dogs wrapped in crescent rolls

IMG_3697

Healthy cookie dough dip (made with garbanzo beans!)

IMG_3698

Half way through consumption…before round two!!!

IMG_3699

Pretzels with a peanut butter mixture and dipped in chocolate!

IMG_3702

Cookies and cream brownies!

IMG_3703

Homemade Snickers bars

We also had unpictured chicken nuggets and pizza bites.  Holy cow.  My belly is not too happy with me today.  The downside to eating all of the junk is the way that my body feels after I eat.  Also it definitely affects my feelings toward myself.  Not only does my stomach scream at me for pouring all of this unhealthy food into it, but my head is so mad for allowing myself to OVER-indulge in the unhealthiness.

I have decided to go extreme here in a few weeks.  Lent starts soon, and normally I give up junk food.  This year, though, I am going to go vegan for the time.  I have done a week long vegan challenge before, and I loved the way my body thanked me for not allowing certain things to enter my system.  As I practically don’t eat meat now (other than chicken), the change may not be as challenging as for others, but I am still ready to tackle it head on. 

In other news, I haven’t worked out since Friday.  Between overindulging with my amazing family on Saturday and yesterday’s binging, I have decided to swim today.  I really need to get my motivation back. Sometime this week, I am going to attempt running again as I have been trying to save the shins for the marathon!

Ok, well now it’s time to make healthy decisions and try to get back into the mindset needed for me to fight off the extra pounds of fat that have been creeping on as of late.  Here’s to making changes for the better!

How was your Super Bowl experience? I won’t lie…I barely watched the game.  It was nice to watch the commercials and Nicki Minaj and spend time with friends!

9 Comments

Filed under Food, Friends, Weekend

9 responses to “Super Bowl Feast

  1. Don’t feel too bad about not eating as clean as possible — it’s always a bit tougher during a special occasion. I didn’t eat that well over the weekend either, and only worked out Saturday, not Sunday. But I know that I will DEFINITELY be back on track throughout the next two weeks–and looking forward to it!

  2. Wow that sounds awesome about going vegan for lent. How interesting-I never would have thought about that. I don’t even know what I want to do yet but I should probably figure it out. Superbowl is meant to not eat as clean as normal. I wouldn’t worry too much about it. 🙂

  3. Purple rice krispie treats?! SOLD! 🙂

    I definitely, DEFINITELY over-did it last night! My stomach was all off this morning & I knew it was because I went totally overboard with my sugar consumption. I’m a sugar fiend, so to acknowledge that I went crazy is saying a lot! haha

  4. Kim @ Eat, Live, and Blog

    I didn’t watch the superbowl this year, but the best thing about superbowl are the commercials. I really don’t care much about the game itself. Haha.

    Love those pb pretzels!! They look to die for. 🙂

  5. The homemade snickers caught my eye… that is my favorite candy bar EVER and probably always will be 🙂
    And I “watched” the game in a friends room… aka sat around and talked and joked with others!

  6. I was in church for the first half of the super bowl, then I came home and watched it until 9:30 and then I went to bed LOL! I looks like you had some YUMMY food!

  7. Kristen @ livinlifeinlouie

    holy moly! that food looks amazing!! I know that you and I both deal w/ over induldging, but I know we can get it together. If you ever need ANYTHING please let me know. Just remember, today is a new day- just get moving!!! 🙂

  8. Oh my! ALL of that food looks totally drool-worthy! YUM!! Now I want pretzels and brownies and cookie dough for lunch. 😛 haha

  9. Your snacks look amazing!!! WIsh I went to your place to watch the Super Bowl 🙂 I’ll be interested in hearing how your vegan switch goes!

Leave a Reply

