Easy Chicken Pot Pie

Though I saw 50/50 in theaters last year, I forgot how amazing it is.  If you are looking to watch something…I recommend it!

Ok, before Lent starts on Wednesday, it is my goal to get rid of every non-vegan thing in my house. 

I was thinking about what to make Travis and I for dinner tonight, and decided I was not going to make something unless it helped me in clearing out the cabinets.

Here’s what I had on hand: frozen veggies, tuna, chicken, noodles, cream of potato soup, granola bars, rice, oats, crescent rolls, and baby hot dogs (left over from the super bowl).

I searched the web for some ideas and came across this recipe:

Easy Chicken Pot Pie

  • 2 cups cooked chicken, cut into bite sized chunks
  • 2 (10 ½ ounce) cans cream of potato soup
  • 1 (16 ounce) bag frozen mixed vegetables or 2 (15 ounce) cans Veg-All
  • 2 pie crusts (top and bottom) – I used my crescent rolls
  • salt and pepper
Directions:
  1. Mix soup, chicken, vegetables and seasoning.

  2. Put bottom pie crust in 9 inch baking dish.

  3. Add the mixture.

  4. Top with top pie crust and pinch.

  5. Bake at 375° for 45-60 minutes until heated through.

  6. (You will probably have leftover mixture — I usually make an extra crust and make a mini-pot pie in a large ramekin.).

It was seriously the simplest thing ever! Andddd it was super delicious! My favorite type of meal!

IMG_3782

IMG_3784

Even with only making half of the recipe, we still had leftover filling and made a little baby pie:

IMG_3776

And the best part of the meal was a surprise: dessert!

Came home from the swim meet to this:

IMG_3781

Best thing ever after another 9 hour swim meet day! Smile Speaking of the meet, here’s this meet’s team after all of their swims! 

IMG_3770

Alright, off to Netflix it up for the night Smile. First up: Bo Burnham comedy show! I love him.

Hope all of you are having a good weekend!

5 Comments

Filed under Recipes, Weekend

5 responses to “Easy Chicken Pot Pie

  1. dayglows

    Oh my goodness I saw the title of this post and got so excited. Chicken pot pie may be one of my favorite foods… so comforting.

    I spent a lot of time this weekend watching my friends swim at their conference meet. I totally respect your 9 hour days. It can be exhausting just standing there for hours. My feet were killing me!

  2. I used to nearly live on chicken pot pie when I was younger… it was one of my most favorite things ever! Thanks for the recipe Nikki 🙂

  3. Mmm chicken pot pie! I love vegetable pot pie – which is close enough! I totally forgot that lent starts so soon. I’m giving up either chocolate or peanut butter. Not sure which yet.

  4. Chicken pot pie is so good!

  5. Pingback: How to Organize Your Files With Cross Referencing

Leave a Reply

