Happy and Sad

You know what made me happy today?

Being able to watch Ellen because I didn’t have to go to swim practice this afternoon.

Though this wasn’t the episode, Sophia Grace and Rosie are the best.

But you know what made me sad today?

Going to the physical therapist.  Don’t get me wrong, my PT was amazing.  I loved her and am really looking forward to future sessions.  She seemed knowledgeable and relatable.  She didn’t use big words and make me feel stupid for not knowing doctor things.

There was some bad news though.  After some feeling around and moving my legs in all different directions, she feels as though the muscle in my groin/hip is hurt.  Because of it, I will have to swear off exercising anything that isn’t my arms.  So I can do upper body, but the only lower body work I can do is ride a bike at no resistance for about 10 minutes.  And lots and lots of stretching.  I guess you shouldn’t really worry about seeing my on Daily Mile anytime soon(though I haven’t really been anyway…) She did some ultrasound stuff and some massaging, but she wasn’t able to make any promises about my May 6th marathon… 😦

I was a little bit of a rebel, though, and took Rex for a walk.  There was no way I was passing up this amazing 56 degree weather in February! Rex is leaving tomorrow so it may have been our last long walk.

IMG_3810

IMG_3812

IMG_3815

Well, the weekend is tomorrow. That’s all I know.  That’s my motivation to get through class tonight and work in the morning.  This weekend I am heading to Trav’s house. I guess you could say I have been spoiled this year. We used to be together every day because of being together at school.  But I feel as though we took advantage of that time together.  Now, we have seen each other EVERY weekend this school year, and it makes the time together even better!

And so is Joseph Gordon-Levitt.  He’s perfect.  I may have mentioned this, but he’s one of the four stars I would date without question (the others being Ryan Gosling, Nate Ruess, and Andrew McMahon.)

Have a good evening!

Anyone else looking forward to the weekend as I am?

10 Comments

Filed under Exercise, Life, Weekend

10 responses to “Happy and Sad

  1. Brittany @ Itty Bits of Balance

    I’m so sorry to hear that 😦 Was she able to give you any idea at all about when you’d be able to get back in the game?

    Being injured is one of the most sucky and defenseless of feelings. It’s tough stuff, but looks like your perspective is in the right zone.

    Aaaanddd because I’m just curious– how far apart do you and Travis live from each other?

    • She said it all depends on the healing process…could be a few weeks but could be longer than a month! 😦

      As for Travis and I, when I am at school, he is about an hour away. When I am at home in Pittsburgh, though, he is three hours away which was rough over the summers when we were undergrads!

  2. Oh Nikki I am so so sorry to hear this! I am of course wishing you the best of luck and keep us updated on the health status!

  3. Awe girl-I am so sorry to hear about that. I hope you heal well! You know you can cross train right through it girl!

    I’m def looking forward to this weekend-minus all the work I’ll be doing. LAME.

  4. me me!! I am looking forward to it!! Im sorry about the bummer PT session, but I hope it starts to help your hip!

  5. Kim @ Eat, Live, and Blog

    I’m sorry about the bad news nikki. I know it must be frustrating to not be able to exercise like you wanted to. Hope everything will get better soon.

  6. Steve davis

    The only thing worse than short changing your training is short changing your healing and recovery. There will be lots of other marathons, and you will rock in them if you let yourself heal. Get well.

  7. Oh man I am so sorry about your injury 😦 not fun. May is still a little ways away.. Keep doing your PT!!

    Rex is so adorable!

    I see my boyfriend each weekend and I feel like we appreciate each other more too!

  8. I’m so sorry to hear about your bad news! May is a long time from now so don’t give up!

Leave a Reply

