Realization

The few days I was at school last week during Lent were not too challenging to make my meals vegan.  It wasn’t until I went to Trav’s this weekend and I was the only non-meat, egg, and cheese eater that things were a little tricky.

I realized that there are a lot of things that are vegan-friendly that aren’t necessarily the best for you.  On Saturday, his family was ordering pizza so I went ahead and ordered a plain tossed salad and some french fries.  Well, I normally don’t eat too many fries but they were one of few options for me. 

The fries may have tasted delicious going down, but my stomach was not too pleased with me after eating them! The greasiness made my stomach feel as though it could explode at any second…and believe me, it was not a pleasant feeling.

Through this whole Lenten experience, my ultimate goal is to determine which foods make my body feel the best, and which ones I could ultimately do without.

Well, I guess it’s fair to say that french fries definitely can be thrown out (duh!!)

Today, I did really well with my eating. I started the day with some oatmeal, had some brown rice pasta with an apple and apple sauce for lunch, and had a salad with crackers and hummus for dinner.  Some rice cakes and jelly for a snack and I would say today was a success.

This is a horrible phone picture, but here’s my morning eats: blueberry oatmeal with hazelnut butter! YUM!!!!

2012-02-27_09-10-26_272

All I know is that being vegan for Lent has definitely proven to be eye opening thus far, and I can’t wait to see what challenges/surprises are in store for the rest of the 40 days.  As was the case before Lent, I really need to focus on my weekend consumption.  For some reason, I still get a feeling that weekends are a free-for-all, which shouldn’t be the case at all!

For those of you who gave up something for Lent or are trying to incorporate something new into your days, how is your practice going thus far?

6 Comments

Filed under Food, Goals, Life, Weekend

6 responses to “Realization

  1. ummm its going OKKK. It defiantly could be better. But I do notice that I am not having the sugar high/lows. Yesterday I did have some starbursts. Tomorrow – no candy.
    I have never tried having a vegan diet, but it looks like you are gettng the hang of it- keep it up!!!!!!!!!

  2. Jessica LaRosa

    Being vegan when going out to eat / eating at others’ places is never easy! I usually come equipped with my own food – or at least a sweet potato – it’s an easy, nutritious item that only requires a microwave (and maybe some cinnamon!)
    I think this is my 10th Lent going vegan – it’s going well so far – and it gets easier every year when you come up with new & exciting meal ideas. Good luck!

    • I definitely am going to have to do this from now on! I am loving it so far, though. I know my dad will want to eat meals that are loaded with meat and such while I am home for spring break, so it looks like I’ll be backing a good bag! Or hitting up the Giant Eagle in Irwin. Apparently they redid everything and they have all sorts of new options!

  3. So far, so good! I haven’t had any soda & I’ve only been having 1 sweet a day. It’s definitely not easy! Hang in there. 🙂

  4. Good for you! Pizza is such a weakness of mine….I don’t think I could’ve just ordered a salad 🙂

  5. Mmm I want to try hazelnut butter so bad!

Leave a Reply

