Thursday Thanksgiving

Howdy, y’all! Anyone find it odd that I am currently watching Enchanted (the Disney movie) on SyFy?

Well, nevermind that.  Throughout the course of today, I caught myself thinking about the many wonderful things I have to be thankful for on a daily basis.  Through my whole Lenten journey, another goal I had sent for myself is to recognize the beauty in the things that God has created for me and to find deeper appreciation for the life that I have.

I am thankful for puddle-less days of sunshine that follow days of dark downpour.

I am thankful for my health, because regardless of injury, my body is still healthy and allows me to accomplish many things day in and day out.

I am thankful for tupperware, especially mini containers and sandwich containers.  Both of which allow me to save some money and save the planet by not using plastic bags.

2012-03-01_11-37-14_121

I am thankful that I do not have to work tomorrow morning and can stay up and watch cheesy TV and eat popcorn.

I am thankful for the Lorax and Ihop, for they are giving children recognition of what happens to the environment and provides seeds to plant trees to help.

I am thankful for the opportunity I was given to coach throughout this swim season. Tomorrow is the first day of their district swim meet, which means that the season will be ending this weekend.  I have enjoyed spending so much time with these swimmers and getting to know each of them. 

I am thankful for Amazon.com.  My goodness, I order so many things from them and their service is incredible.  Also, getting mail and packages can brighten my day, even when I am expecting the delivery!

I am thankful that I am one week away from spring break and spending time with my family.  Last year, I wasn’t given spring break due to student teaching, and I have not spent more than a weekend at home with my family in well over a year.

I am thankful that turning vegan for Lent has made me more aware of what I need to fuel my body and has introduced me to new meal creations, such as quinoa which I tried for dinner for the first time! I mixed it with some garlic, corn, peas, and peppers for a veggie fix! Loved it!

2012-03-01_17-21-05_296

I know that I have so many more things to be thankful for, but that’s all I wrote down throughout the course of the day.  I guess I could also be thankful for people who do things like this:

I found this on The Berry and loved it. Some people are amazing.

Well, that’s all folks.  Back to that cheesy TV I was mentioning earlier Smile

What do you have to be thankful for?

7 Comments

Filed under Life

7 responses to “Thursday Thanksgiving

  1. Love this post girl. My dad says the same thing to me frequently. Although I might be stressed now, my life will all come together and I have so many things going for me! 🙂

  2. Love this Nikki… so important to remind ourselves of this, especially when we are feeling down and just blehhh

  3. I am thankful for a three day weekend w/ my son 🙂

  4. I love tupperware!! One of the best things EVER invented! I love the mirrorless Monday too! How awesome is that?! Have a great weekend!

  5. Great post girl! You’ve almost made it to Spring Break!

  6. wohoo welcome to the vegan challenge 🙂

    i love these kinds of thankful posts, I think we all need to read them as a reminder some times

  7. B

    What a great post! I’m thankful for awesome friends and family!

Leave a Reply

