5 miles is 5 miles

As I promised in the first half of my weekend recap, here is what my sister, cousin, and I did this past Sunday!

My sister, cousin, and friend has signed up for DC’s St. Patrick’s Day 8k which took place on Sunday, but the friend had to back out last minute and I decided to step in, even if it meant that I would just be walking. I ended up finishing in 1:10.16, which I guess isn’t TOO bad!  It’s a 14.09 pace.  I will admit, it was REALLY hard for me to sit back and walk and have everyone passing me.  I felt the urge to sprint past people, but I knew that was the worst thing I could do at this point.  I will also admit to being extremely sore about walking 5 miles.  How pathetic is that?!

Here are some race pictures:

IMG_3917

IMG_3920

IMG_3924

Pre race chicken dancing…

IMG_3929

Juggler as he flew by me…

IMG_3931

Running past the Capitol

IMG_3934

Finish line!

After the race, we walked through DC to eat at Founding Farmers.

IMG_3936

IMG_3937

Necessary stop at the White House.

IMG_3939

Cherry blossoms are already starting to bloom!!

IMG_3941

IMG_3945

I could rant about this restaurant for days. Holy cow was it amazing. Everything is made within the store, and everything is fresh. They even had a vegan menu. You bet I was all over that. Founding Farmers is so popular that you have to make a reservation about a month in advance to make sure that you will have little wait time.

IMG_3946

IMG_3948

Vegan chocolate stout waffle with strawberries and vegan caramel sauce. OH EM GEE.

Following a metro and bus ride home (as the metro is doing work on the red line), we showered, napped, said goodbye to Lindsay as she headed out, and hit up the movies.

Christine and I saw Friends with Kids, which was hysterical.  It has a very similar cast to Bridesmaids, and I loved that so I knew that I would enjoy this as well…though it’s not AS hilarious, but what is!?

Following the movie, we ate at Uncle Julios, which was delicious but the service was horrible!

2012-03-11_18-59-57_356

Spending the weekend in DC made me reminiscent of the summer I spent interning at the Library of Congress.  It was an amazing experience to say the least!!

I left my sister’s yesterday morning, and now that I am home, I have been doing homework and watching movies and eating a lot….

Yesterday, I watched Burlesque, and today, I watched Love and Other Drugs.  Let me just say that OnDemand HBO and Stars movies will most likely take up majority of my break. I am quite ok with that.

Off to do a little home arm workout!

Don’t forget to enter my giveaway!

Any good movies I should watch while home?

5 Comments

Filed under Exercise, Food, Giveaway, Life, Races, Traveling, Weekend

5 responses to “5 miles is 5 miles

  1. Wowza look at that WAFFLE! That looks delish. I’m glad you were able to keep your goals in check and do what you could in the race… D.C. is one of my favorite places! Love it there 🙂

  2. I want to see friends with kids. it looks pretty funny!
    I will say I am jealous of your race. I have to work this weekend, so now st pats race for me 😦

  3. How fun! I really want to see Friends with Kids…it looks hilarious!

  4. That movie looks hilarious. Sorry about the race and I know how bothersome it can be. Glad it was so much fun though! 🙂

  5. Yum, that waffle looks great! Hope you have enjoyed your week!

Leave a Reply

