A Big Decision

First off, let me just say HAPPY FIRST DAY OF SPRING!

2012-03-20_15-19-32_952

I wore my pastel orange to work today.  It made me excited for spring clothing and Easter! (Don’t mind the awkward photo.  Awkward is my life.)

Although it’s a bit overcast today, I am still in love with the weather we have been having throughout Pennsylvania within the past week.  I would be quite content if the weather stayed like this year round.  Maybe that means I should look for employment in a warmer area? Hmm…. that’s a life decision I’m not ready to face quite yet.

Speaking of decisions, I had to make a big one today regarding my May 6th marathon.  As you may remember, I haven’t been really running at all lately due to some hip trouble and physical therapy.  I was considering still doing the marathon and seeing how it went.  But then today, I received this email from the Pittsburgh Marathon:

image

That’s when my mind got to thinking: if I don’t want to risk any further injury, it’s probably in my best interest to scale the race down a bit.  I have officially requested to switch from the full marathon to the half.  Hopefully my application made it in early so I get the opportunity to switch (they only allow so many switches in either direction). This was going to be my first marathon, but there will be plenty other chances in the future should I choose to take them.  It was a hard decision to make, but I am positive it is the best decision for me right now.  Who knows how much longer it will be until I can run again anyway?! 13.1 miles is a lot easier to run/walk if necessary than 26.2, especially with a 6 hour time limit!

In other Pittsburgh news, local favorite football player Hines Ward announced his retirement from professional football.  Though it is very sad to see him go, I am glad to see him spend his entire fourteen year career as a Steeler.  Mucho love to Hinesy. 

Here’s his rookie picture <3:

Well, I wish I could say that I was off to get me some free Rita’s but I am working a bit longer and then heading to the gym before coaching Special Olympics swimming!

Also, I found this post to be amazing.  Check out Presley’s post on bad days!

Any of you able to get free Rita’s today? Favorite flavor?

12 Comments

Filed under Exercise, Races, Training

12 responses to “A Big Decision

  1. Kim @ Eat, Live, and Blog

    I think is was a smart decision to swtich considering that you are still injured. And like you said, there will be other chances to run a full marathon. Running a half is a great accomplishment already. Good luck with your training! 🙂

  2. Oh my gosh, I drove past a Rita’s on my way home from work & it was PACKED! People love free stuff!

  3. I’m so happy that Hines is retiring with the Steelers. I love him!

  4. fairyhealthylife

    You are not awkward at all! Very cute.

    There will be many more races. Although difficult, the best thing you can do is listen to your body!

  5. What a tough decision to make. Personally I think you did the right thing! 🙂

  6. what is ritas? if its free, I would like some haha
    Also, im sorry to hear your hip isnt 100% yet, but probably best to go for the half. do whatever is best for you. I have a half in a few weeks, and I havent been running much 😦
    Happy Spring!

  7. Good for you; I hope the switch gets made ok. 🙂

    That guy’s mustache is not good… lol

    Also… employment here! It’s warm! 😀

  8. ittybitsofbalance

    I think you made the right call. Part of training for these events is knowing when to scale back, and when enough is enough. A 6 hour walking marathon would’ve been preeeeeeetty intense haha

  9. I’m sad to hear about Hines Ward. I really like him!

  10. Pingback: Happy Blog-iversary! | Life After Swimming

Leave a Reply

