Fiesta Friday

Ok, something you may have realized lately is that I have actually been making recipes and eating the foods I create.  I think it’s all a result of this blog.   Everyone else has inspired me to create things and challenge myself to fuel my body with foods that are not frozen meals and cans of soup.  So for that, I thank you Smile.

I had no intentions of making two Spanish/Mexican dishes lately, but it just turned out that way.  That would explain the title of the post.  Here are the two recent fiesta inspired recipes that I have made.  I wish I could take credit for them, but I can’t.  I can pat myself on the back for successful meals, though!

Mexican Pasta Salad (courtesy of Panera!)

2 cups small shell pasta
2 tablespoons fresh lime juice
4 tablespoons olive oil
1 clove garlic, minced
1 teaspoon salt
¼ teaspoon black pepper
½ cup fresh or chunky salsa (medium or hot)
½ red bell pepper, finely chopped
3 plum tomatoes, finely chopped
1 cup pitted black olives, coarsely chopped
1 can (15 ounces) kidney beans, rinsed and drained – I subbed black beans!
1 can (5 ounces) canned green chilies, drained – I didn’t have it!

IMG_3960

Cook the pasta according to the directions on the package. Drain. Meanwhile, put the lime juice in a large serving bowl. Whisk in the oil in a slow steady steam until incorporated. Stir in the garlic, salt, pepper, and salsa. Add the hot pasta to bowl and stir to combine. Stir in the bell pepper, tomatoes, olives, beans, chilies, and cilantro or parsley. Refrigerate until cold, at least 1 hour or up to 2 days. Bring to room temperature before serving.

Panera recommends serving alongside some of their breads…but I didn’t even need that! Successful meal #1!

And here’s meal #2:

Vegan Crock Pot Enchiladas (my first crock pot meal!)

1-3/4 lbs. canned crushed tomatoes in tomato purée
14 ounces chunky style prepared salsa
6 ounces tomato paste
2 lbs. canned black beans, rinsed and drained
1 lb. corn kernels, thawed if frozen
1/4 lb. canned diced mild green chilies, drained
1-1/2 Tbs. ground cumin
1/2 tsp. garlic powder
5 corn tortillas
2 ounces olive slices, drained

IMG_4141

Combine first 8 ingredients in a bowl. Mix thoroughly. Pour about 1 cup of mixture into the bottom of an electric slow cooker on low heat. Spread evenly and top with 1-1/2 tortillas, cutting to fit pot. Spread 1/3 of remaining tomato mixture over top. Repeat layering process, ending with tomato mixture. Spread top evenly. Sprinkle with olives.

IMG_4142

Cover and cook about 5 hours. Serve hot. This recipe serves 5 people.

IMG_4143

IMG_4145

This was seriously delicious.  I typically think of cheese when I think of enchiladas but I didn’t even miss it.  The amount of veggies in this doesn’t hurt either.  You can’t go wrong with too many veggies!! The recipe recommends making your own tortillas.  I attempted it and failed miserably.  Back to the grocery store I went to buy pre-made ones.  Any corn tortilla making  suggestions?

Here’s my attempt:

IMG_4140

Fail. I guess pretending to be a chef can only take me so far.  And they weren’t kidding about the five people thing: I was full after a little piece…leftover city!

Otay, off to be productive!! Have a great Friday!! Smile

Oh ya, and I added a recipe tab to my blog…for my benefit and yours.  This way I can easily access recipes for future use, and you can find recipes, too!

Have you ever made your own tortillas? If so, teach me your ways!

10 Comments

Filed under Food, Recipes

10 responses to “Fiesta Friday

  1. your enchiladas look AMMMAZZING! I wonder if andrew would eat them haha

  2. The enchiladas look similar to a Mexican lasagna that we make! I’ll have to try this!

  3. Pingback: Fiesta Friday | life after swimming

  4. I’m so excited you are cooking (well mostly because I can’t). Those look awesome though for real!

  5. The first recipe looks delicious but I’d almost rather have it warm than room temp or cold. For some reason cold pasta gives me the hibee jibees! 😉

  6. ittybitsofbalance

    Yey for making healthier choices for yourself and learning to cook new things! I know exactly what you mean– reading about what others eat in the blog world kind of hold you accountable in a way for what you eat yourself.

    Have a good weekend 🙂

  7. Great job on that crockpot meal… lookin good my friend 😉 You are wonderful for making some healthier options and doing a good job at too!

  8. Sarah

    What is the plastic in your crock pot!?

Leave a Reply

