Nerd Status

Shhh….the secret’s out.  I am a huge nerd.  Well, I guess it wasn’t that much of a secret. Smile

I love learning.  I love school.  I love reading.  I love math.  I am a nerd.  Bring on the pocket protectors, Trapper Keepers, and protractors.  Or just give me books.  I have been buying books left and right for my Kindle. 

If you remember, over my spring break, I made a goal for myself to finally finish the book I started around Christmas.  Not only did I love the book, but it definitely renewed my love for reading which had somehow slipped away in between classes and coaching and work.

The book is Born to Run by Christopher McDougall, and for those of you who haven’t read it, I highly recommend the book.  While I am not going to give you a precise summary, I will tell you a little about the book.  It’s about a man who wants to discover the secret to pain-free endurance running.  Where does he go to look? The Turahumara Indians in Mexico’s deadly Copper Canyons.  It is there that he sees some of the most impressive running known to man.  The whole story documents his journey to discover the secret of running. 

One thing that really interested me during and after reading the book is running barefoot or with minimalist shoes.  I have heard that running this way can really push your body to run naturally and it great for injury reduction.  Born to Run explains how these Indians are able to run for days with homemade sandals, and they seldom are hurt.  How I would LOVE to be able to do that!

If you’re interesting in learning more about minimalist running, check out this article from Running Times!

After having finished that book, I have just wanted to read and read and read.  No textbooks, though, please! Right now, I am reading The Lucky One by Nicholas Sparks.  I just don’t want to put it down! I love any and all books by Nicholas Sparks, and this one is not letting me down.  And recently, I saw the preview for the new movie with Zac Efron. Yum!

You better believe I will be going to that movie! I am all about sappy love stories. 

If you want to check out some more of the books I’ve read, check out my Book Nook page.

Off to be productive! Let me know some of your favorite books so I can add them to my list of books to read!

3 Comments

Filed under Book, Goals, Life, Running

3 responses to “Nerd Status

  1. The Lucky One is AMAZING! I love Nicholas Sparks. I’ve read all but one of his books and they’re all great!

  2. I’ve been doing a lot of research on minimalist shoes and I don’t quite know how I feel about them yet.

  3. i love reading too!!!! I need to read Born to Run, I have heard really good things about it!

Leave a Reply

