WIAW + A Recipe

Happy What I Ate Wednesday!! Isn’t Jenn just the best? Smile

Here are some of my eats as of late:

IMG_4147

Perfectly sliced cucumbers…thanks to my awesome mandolin Smile

IMG_4156

Homemade coffee frap!

IMG_4220

Spaghetti Squash

IMG_4214

These are AMAZING and the perfect size!

And of course I have had tons of these:

Spiced Sweet-Potato Chips

IMG_4194

  • 1 sweet potato, peeled (12 oz)
  • 1/2 teaspoon ground cumin
  • 1/4 teaspoon sugar
  • 1/4 teaspoon chili powder
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt

1. Preheat the oven to 375°F.

2. Cut the potato into very thin slices. Spray two baking sheets with cooking spray. Arrange the slices on the sheets in a single layer, and lightly coat the slices with cooking spray. Bake for 7 minutes, or until they’ve barely started to brown. Remove, turn them over, return to the oven, and bake 7 to 10 more minutes until lightly browned. Transfer to a bowl, and repeat with remaining potato slices.

3. Meanwhile, in a small bowl, combine the cumin, sugar, chili powder, and salt. Pour over the chips, toss well, and serve.

IMG_4209

They were fantastic! So much better than the store bought kind! DUH!

Have you ever made your own chips?

16 Comments

Filed under Food, Recipes, WIAW

16 responses to “WIAW + A Recipe

  1. I have never made my own chips, but I love sweet potatoes I get them every week!
    How do you make your homemade frap?

  2. I haven’t made my own chips but I do believe it’s time too… these look great and not complicated! Great eats lately Nikki 🙂

  3. Love me some of those chips. So good! Glad you are having a good week of eats!

  4. Mmmm I love spaghetti squash 😛

  5. StoriesAndSweetPotatoes

    I’ve never made my own chips because I’m not really a chip fan. I keep planning to try with sweet potatoes but then I always think “Nahhh I’ll just roast it” 🙂

  6. breakfasttobed

    those are my son’s favorite ice cream bars.

  7. I’ll have to look for those ice cream bars!

  8. ooh my.. i need to try those chips!! i’ve never made any that weren’t savory. chad got me one of those microwaveable chip makers.. it’s pretty awesome! 🙂

  9. I love crunchy foods… The spice combo for your chips sounds awesome 🙂

Leave a Reply

