Foodie Penpals

This month, I took part in my first Foodie Penpals experience.  Why did I do it? Well, not only is it AWESOME, but I feel as though my little small town does not have much variety and I get really jealous of some of the things I see in the blog world!

For those of you who don’t know, the lovely Lindsay at The Lean Green Bean started a monthly exchange for bloggers and non-bloggers to exchange food and food related items to others throughout the country.  Each participant spends about 15 dollars to pull together a hodge podge of goodies to send.  Check out her blog for more information. It was like Christmas when I came home from spring break with a package waiting for me. Smile

IMG_4038

Here’s what I got in my amazing box for the lovely Sarah.

IMG_4039

Vegan chocolate chip cookies!! I told her that I was currently vegan, and she definitely took it into consideration! Now I NEED to go back to DC soon and check out this awesome bakery! Smile

IMG_4041

IMG_4043

Love love love pistachios!

IMG_4045

These were enjoyed subbing one day!

IMG_4047

IMG_4048

Pretty excited to try this!!

IMG_4049

Anyone have any good lentil recipes? Winking smile

IMG_4050

And to top it off, she sent a cute little magnetic notepad! Love it!!!

I sent my box to Maureen at Organically Mo.

I will let her talk about what she received, but I did send her some granola! Here’s the recipe:

Peanut Butter Cinnamon Granola

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 c Peanut butter
  • 1 c brown sugar
  • 1/4 c water
  • 1 Tsp Vanilla Extract
  • 2 Tbsp Cinnamon (Reduce this if you don’t like alot of cinnamon, 1 Tbsp will likely suffice but I happen to love cinnamon)
  • 4 c old-fashioned oats

Directions:

  1. Combine and melt peanut butter, brown sugar & water on the stove
  2. Add the vanilla and cinnamon to the mixture
  3. Stir in oats until all combined
  4. Spread mixture onto a parchment lined cookie sheet
  5. Bake at 375 for 10-15 minutes
  6. Enjoy

Well, it’s off to NYC for me (with a pit-stop in DC for the night!!!)

What are your weekend plans? Anything exciting??

22 Comments

Filed under Food, Foodie Penpals, Recipes

22 responses to “Foodie Penpals

  1. That’s such a neat idea to have an exchange like that. How fun!

  2. What a great package you received!! I am intrigued by that lemon dill dip, yum 🙂
    I have not tried it yet, but I do home to make a lentil loaf one day! Also lentils in soup is always glorious

  3. Every month I mean to sign up for this & then I forget! haha Maybe April will be the month! 🙂

  4. How cool is that? I must do this!! 😀

  5. yummm i was just telling maureen how amazing that granola sounded!!!

  6. lindsAy

    it looks like you got some great stuff! i’m not a vegan but those cookies look pretty amazing…

  7. you have been nominated for a versatile blogger award. go to http://chefpeterskitchen.blogspot.com/ for details

  8. Vegan chocolate chip cookies…best dessert ever 🙂 I just found your blog through Lindsay’s page…I used to be a swimmer too, but had to stop due to injury- don’t you miss it like crazy?!

  9. fairyhealthylife

    Great package, I’ve seen those cookies but didn’t try them. Now I think I will. I think I’ll also try that recipe. I love cinnamon too!

  10. what a great idea!!!!
    plans for this weekend: work ALLL weekend. Maybe workout before work on sunday…. and get a blog in. We will see! haha

Leave a Reply

