Spaghetti Squash

Happy Sunday! And happy April, too!

Who would have thought that I would be all about spaghetti squash?! Vegetables and I have a love/hate relationship.  Definitely love cucumbers, corn, peas, peppers, etc.  Definitely hate broccoli, uncooked carrots, and mushrooms (if they’re even a veggie…and not a fungus).

IMG_4215

I would have to place spaghetti squash into the love department.  I used it in two meals this past week.

First, though, I gutted and baked it until I could get all of the goods out.

IMG_4218

The first day, I just topped it with some spaghetti sauce and vegan chicken strips.

IMG_4221

With the next day squash leftovers (which tasted just as good as day one), I made a sauce that I saw on Lindsay’s blog at In Sweetness and In Health.  Thanks, dear Smile

Here it is:

Spicy Thai Peanut Sauce

  • 2 Tbsp natural peanut butter
  • 1/3 cup salsa
  • 1/4 tsp dried red pepper flakes
  • 1/3 cup water

IMG_4225

Combine in a blender (I used my Ninja Pulse) and puree until creamy!

Top the squash (or some pasta!), add some protein…and devour.

IMG_4228

Totally great combinations.  And that sauce was soooo simple!!! Total single girl  (well I guess I’m not single, but I do cook for one!)

Do you like spaghetti squash??

And just to make you smile, here are some pictures of Geno’s antics as of late:

IMG_4229

He really showed his little house who’s boss!

IMG_4233

I guess he has a backache!

Ohhh silly, silly Geno!!

Hope you enjoy the end of the weekend! Last day in NYC…leaving this evening!Sad smile

6 Comments

Filed under Food, Life, Recipes

6 responses to “Spaghetti Squash

  1. I really like spaghetti squash, but I always seem to forget about it when I’m planning my meals for the week!

  2. Happy April! I can’t believe it is here already. and it is a high of 90 here today. Um. is it spring or summer?
    have fun in NYC!

  3. i’ve never tried spaghetti squash but i’m thinking about picking one up soon – i think the prep is what scares me!

    geno is so cute! i ❤ kitties 🙂

Leave a Reply

