Spicy Rice + A Look at April

What’s April have in store for me? Well, first a family weekend for Easter with both my family and Trav’s family.  I am super excited for that.  I also have my last few weeks of class for the semester which most likely means that I will have lots of school work and finalizing work things.  And hopefully I can work on healing my hip to make it all better in time for the half marathon!

But what I am most interested in seeing is how my eating habits change once Lent is over.  I have grown to love veganism.  I love the way that I feel and I love the energy I have seemed to have.  I don’t really miss anything that was given up during Lent.  It has also forced me to incorporate new things into my meals.  I am not sure what will happen once Friday rolls around, but I am sure I will keep you up to date.

And I am sure I will continue eating yummy meals like this:

Spicy Rice

  • Vegetable oil (enough to coat the pan)
  • 1 cup cooked brown rice (I pulled out frozen and heated it up)
  • Corn
  • Peas
  • Green pepper
  • Any veggies on hand
  • 1/4 tsp minced garlic
  • Franks red hot sauce
  • Vegan chicken (or protein of choice)

IMG_4238

I heated up the chicken and thawed the rice before throwing it all into a lightly coated pan with enough hot sauce to lightly coat everything.  It was perfect for my spicy food cravings that I happen to get about once every two weeks.

Off to sub I go! Now that coaching swimming has ended, I finally have time to substitute teach some more.  Today I am heading back to where my teaching experience started, and I am subbing in the same emotional support classroom in which I did part of my undergraduate student teaching! Hope it all goes well! Smile

Enjoy your Tuesday!

Any big plans for your April??

4 Comments

Filed under Food, Life, Recipes

4 responses to “Spicy Rice + A Look at April

  1. looks delicious!
    Andrew and I are goign to the beach in 6 days!! I cant wait

  2. Aw, I’m glad you get to have family time for Easter! I always cherish time with my family as well 🙂

    Your rice sounds and looks delish! So happy you love veganism & that it is working out so well for ya.

  3. Awe substitute teaching is so much fun! Good luck with that. Glad you can have some family time-should be awesome! 🙂

  4. OMG! And thanks, I decided I needed to do something for myself so I bought a puppy. He’s a handful but he makes me happy like no other. 🙂 I wish I would have said something but I wasn’t 100% it was you AND I didn’t want to be a creeper. Hahhaha. Now I wish I would have said something!

Leave a Reply

