New York Style WIAW

As promised on Monday, my sister and I ate some pretty fantastic food during our 2 day stay in the big city.  And thanks to the lovely Jenn at Peas and Crayons, I’m here to tell (and show) you all of our yummy eats!

First stop on our food list: Harry’s Burritos. I got an appetizer of chips and salsa, and of course, I got a burrito, too! I was really happy that they had a vegetarian/vegan portion of their menu! I got a non-dairy burrito that came equipped with beans, brown rice, salsa & vegan soy cheese in a whole wheat totilla and tofu sour cream on the side.  I would really recommend this burrito place!  I could barely even eat half of my burrito.  I felt like I took a million bites but my plate never lost any food!!

IMG_4246

IMG_4248

After cruising through Central Park, we worked up quite an appetite.  For dinner, we went to Café Blossom.  Café Blossom is an all vegan restaurant located on the Upper West Side.  I ordered a vegan grain burger that was made with lentil-quinoa burger, hummus, lettuce, tomato, and pickles on multi-grain.  I ordered it with a side salad that had a lemon-limey dressing.  Deliciousss!  And I may have to recreate something similar…I have lentils and quinoa at home ready to be made!

IMG_4332

Christine got spaghetti alfredo that had sautéed baby spinach, garlic, fresh herbs, shallots, and lemon cream sauce.  I tried hers, too, and it was fantastic.

IMG_4333

Oh, and you best believe we got milkshakes, too!! I got a cookie dough shake and she got chocolate peanut butter.  For a vegan milkshake (and even for a regular milkshake!!), I thought they were out of this would yummy!

IMG_4335

I obviously also got a cookie to go that was thoroughly enjoyed after walking around Sunday afternoon.  When I asked for a cookie at the restaurant, the waiter asked if I wanted drizzle or no drizzle.  Is that even a question?

IMG_4341

Breakfast in bed at the hotel.  Quick and easy oatmeal for some morning fuel!

My most anticipated restaurant: Peanut Butter & Co.!!!! Ahhh I was so excited that Christine had fit this on our trip itinerary!

IMG_4356

IMG_4357

I was even more excited when I discovered that they have vegan bread, too! Here’s what I got: Cinnamon raisin peanut butter with apple slices on vegan black bread.  It was an amazing combo that I may have to try at home.  I didn’t snap a picture, but Christine got the Cookie Dough Surprise sandwich which had peanut butter, vanilla cream cheese, and chocolate chips.  She said it really did taste like cookie dough!  Each sandwich comes with chips and carrots “just like Mom just to make!”

IMG_4361

Before hitting the road Sunday, we just grabbed something quick in the Macy’s food court and the weekend was sadly over Sad smile.  I hate that weekends have to end! But at least we’re already half way through to the next one!

What’s the best thing you’ve had to eat this week? I don’t think I can answer this question.  I have to say EVERYTHING I ate in NYC was the best.

19 Comments

Filed under Food, Traveling, Weekend, WIAW

19 responses to “New York Style WIAW

  1. Oh my god. Every one of your eats looks so good. I can’t believe all the awesome food choices you were able to find. The burrito looks out of this world!

  2. All of that food looks delicious!!! I am so jealous…especially because of the milkshakes!

  3. I. Am. SO. Hungry!!! Thanks for sharing the yumminess 🙂 I’m hoping to visit NYC later this year and Peanut Butter & Co will be a must-stop. Hopped over from the WIAW blog hop. Great to find you!! 🙂

  4. I am soo jealous you got to go to pb&co! SO AWESOME! What an experience 🙂 Also, that burrito…. looks so good! I loved all of the pictures!

  5. Oh my god,I want to go to PB&Co restaurant so bad! I surely wouldn’t be able to decide on what to get,but yeah… maybe I’d just go there twice,hehe 😛

  6. I need to visit the PB & Co. store!

  7. That burrito is ridiculously HUGE!!! And the shakes…I want one!! 🙂

  8. YUM!!! Everything looks SO delish! Super jealous!

  9. Peanut Butter & Co??? So jealous! I bet they have an amazing menu.
    BTW, your milkshake… nom nom!

  10. Pretty much everything that you ate looks amazing… and I’m a tough critic 😉

    it also pretty much solidifies that I need to visit Peanut Butter & Co asap. How did I not know they had a restaurant?? I pretty much survived on their dark chocolate dreams at one point… love them!

Leave a Reply

