Monday Morning Motivation

Ahhh Monday mornings are just the worst! This weekend was rather enjoyable, too, and the last thing I want to do is get back into the swing of things! The only parts of the weekend that I could have skipped over were the two hockey games in which the Pens decided to not show up to play. But that’s another rant that I’m not looking to relive right now…

A small Sunday recap:

First, I made some hummus.  I made it from scratch, boiling the garbanzo beans and everything!

IMG_4498

Then, it was off to a bingo fundraiser for the Shippensburg University swim team.  The swim team puts on the bingo every year to raise money, and this was my first year coming back to the event as an alumnus!  It started off with yummy food, first!

IMG_4500

IMG_4501

IMG_4504

Unfortunately, we didn’t win any of  the 20+ games… I could have really used some extra cash, or some of the other prizes, too!

We also went to Ruby Tuesday’s for dinner, and THEN out for dessert.  I didn’t bring my camera along, but I’m feeling pretty blah after eating so much all day.

That’s why I made myself a goal: to make all of my meals for the week – from Monday to Friday.  Breakfast, lunch, dinner, AND snacks!  I will allow myself things like Greek yogurt and noodles.  But I am not allowing myself things like granola bars and cookies, etc.  I eat too much processed food! I want to see how I can do for a week without it.  I will try to document any fun meals I make! I want to try and up working out a little more, too.  I shouldn’t do much more cardio, though, because of my hip.  I have an extremely busy week so we shall see how it goes.

Before I sign off and begin day one of a crazy week, here’s a funny link to check out that deals with Who is Looking at Who at the Gym.  Here’s a little sneak peak:

Untitled picture

Treat your Monday as a great one! It’s only what you make it! Smile  Off to physical therapy I go!

34 Comments

Filed under Friends, Goals, Life, Weekend

34 responses to “Monday Morning Motivation

  1. Kari @ bite-sized thoughts

    Oh wow, I can’t wait to hear how your week of no processed food goes! I have such high hopes sometimes for that, but then I pull out a snack bar of some sort. You may just inspire me to do better 😛

  2. I definitely need to be more mindful of how much processed food I eat! Good luck!

  3. healthcraved

    wow-a bingo fundraiser is such a good idea! good luck with your goal this week–I’m excited to see the stuff you come up with. and that link is HILARIOUS! I will remember that going into the gym today

  4. LOL! I love that cartoon. And kudos to you for making your own hummus. I have some packed for lunch today- yum! 🙂

  5. Nice hummus! I should try to make some on my own, too.

  6. I can’t wait to see how this week goes for you then. 🙂 I bet you’ll do fantastically! I think creating the food prior will certainly be good and cause you to eat a lot better! You can always text me too 🙂

    Have a great week!

  7. happy monday!!!! I am defiantly trying to get rid of the processed foods (but sometimes they taste so good haha) But you can do it!!!

  8. How cool that you made hummus! Rock on 🙂

    Happy Monday! I know you can get through it. I’m glad you had a good weekend too ❤

  9. I go through phases where I eat way too much processed food too. I think it happens more when I fail to plain – or I plain meals that are too ambitious given my time. Now I try and have a combo of ideas around so that depending on how much time I have, I always have something available. But still – it’s hard!

  10. I’m guilty of eating too much processed “healthy” food as well. Here’s to a GREAT week! 🙂

  11. LOVE your blog fellow SPA 🙂 I haven’t played BINGO in ages and now that I read this post, I totally miss it 😦 haha

  12. I checked out that “Who’s Looking at Who” thing and the ending cracked me up!

    And girl, I am excited to hear about your experiment of cooking breakfast, lunch and dinner all week! Keep us posted on how it goes!

  13. Sorry about your Pens – it was a bad week in my “fan”life too, as RSL just didn’t play like I know they can!

    I actually want to eat out more – maybe in part to challenge myself to figure out how to eat GF at restaurants so the tought of it doesn’t panic me like it does now! I want to cook more too – now I rely on microwaves or easily made food (like salads)!

  14. Mmmm gosh do I love hummus… I have never tried making my own though! That needs to change and fast 🙂 Good luck this week with the no processed stuff!

  15. What a great goal! I made hummus one time, and it was actually easier than I thought it would be, but my version didn’t taste great. I’m sure yours was way better.

    I love the shot of the bingo hall – I’ve been a few times, and I think they all look the same. 🙂

  16. sooo i was thinking since we are pretty close in location, maybe we could organize a blogger meet up?! or a blogger treat swap?! haha i thought of that because your hummus looked SO good!

  17. OH MY GOSH. I would be sooooooooooo about a meet up!!!! Let’s start planning something ASAP! 🙂

Leave a Reply

