Hydro Track

I have had a few people asking me things about my physical therapy – especially about the hydro track that I am using.

Basically, here’s how the hydro track works.  You go into the part on the right.  Then,  water pumps into the part on the right until the water level evens out.  The door between the two chambers opens once the water pumps so that you can go into the main chamber.  The water is then pumped into the main portion. Once the water is all in the main part, there are jets that start and a treadmill, and you just walk or run into the jets.

Yesterday, I did 5 minute walking warm-up, 5 minutes RUNNING, 5 minutes backward, and then five minutes to each side.  It’s pretty tiring, I will add! It’s like walking or running into a strong wind.  But it makes me feel like actual running isn’t too far away.  On Wednesday, I am going to run on the Hydro track for 10 minutes! WAHOO!

I am so happy that this is available at my physical therapy location.  It is amazing to get to use it, and I can definitely tell that there is great improvement after using it for only a week!

Baby steps, folks, baby steps.

Here’s a great, quick home workout from Tone It Up! I did it yesterday, and I loved it!

Off to sub I go! Smile

20 Comments

Filed under Exercise, Life

20 responses to “Hydro Track

  1. Chasing Fifty

    Gotta love technology!

  2. That is so nuts! I hope your hip gets better soon!

  3. Wow- that is pretty neat. I have never heard of such a thing, but it looks better than “running” in the pool.

  4. This is such a cool device… feel better soon NIkki!!

  5. healthcraved

    what happened to your hip? sorry, I know I’m playing catch up!

  6. katalysthealth

    YES!! I totally used one of these after my knee surgery when I was 14. No one Ive talked to has ever even heard of it!! It was like running in a jacuzzi, I loved it!

  7. how exciting! I wish I could try it

  8. I’ve seen this hydro track many times before, and I want to try one SO bad. I don’t have any injuries, but I think it would be awesome to run under water! I’m glad it’s working for you and getting you on the right track back to running!

  9. Would be a good low impact work-out too, wouldn’t it?

  10. So neat! I’m not glad you’re injured, but I am glad you get to use this for rehab! I’ve wanted something like that for my AR days!

  11. That looks very neat! I would love to try that. I’ve done aqua jogging but nothing like that!

  12. Glad to hear your physical therapy is going well 🙂

  13. Jen

    What a cool devise! I hope your hip gets all better. I was recently on an underwater treadmill and though THAT was cool. This is even better!

  14. Pingback: PMB 2012 | Life After Swimming

Leave a Reply

