Special Olympics

There’s honestly nothing I enjoy much more than helping.  Whether it’s helping the environment, teaching, or coaching, I just love helping things and people around me.

Yesterday, I spent majority of my day at a local college for our area’s Special Olympics swimming and track meets.  Myself and my fellow coaches brought a group of our swimmers to the swim meet, and it honestly made my day a million times brighter (especially because I’d been feeling stuffy AND runny nose-y all day Sad smile).

One awesome thing about the meet is that Messiah College is closed for the day for the events.  It’s pretty much a campus-wide volunteer day in which the students volunteer at the Special Olympics events and other community events.  At the swim meet, the college students were either paired up with a Special Olympian, announced the meet, timed the meet, or coordinated swimmers with events.

All in all, a great time. Here are some pictures from the day! Most of them are of the swimmers in which I coach.

IMG_4541

Coach Megan with Eric (in the middle) and his buddy

IMG_4540

Pete (on the left) with his buddy

IMG_4544

Myself with Brianna

IMG_4547

Our coach, Evan, reciting the coaches’ pledge

IMG_4548

One of our own, Erin, reciting the athletes’ pledge

IMG_4554

Let the games begin!

IMG_4564

Brianna up on the block!

IMG_4575

Derick in first and Eric in third!

In the end, majority of my swimmers came home with at LEAST one first place (each swam three events).  I had a blast and I know they did, too.  They love making new friends and having the support of their buddies.

If I could volunteer for the rest of my life, I would do it in a heart beat.  Too bad volunteering can’t pay the bills!

Do you do any volunteering??

17 Comments

Filed under Life

17 responses to “Special Olympics

  1. Special Olympics is such an awesome organization & it’s so great that you got the chance to volunteer with them!

    I definitely want to get more involved in volunteering somewhere! Maybe once the school year ends, I’ll look into our local Animal Rescue League or Humane Society!

  2. Aww I really enjoyed this post Nikki! I used to volunteer at the Special Olympics every single year when I was in high school. They were held in June at Harvard in Boston and it was just so much fun to help out there…. I usually helped out with the swimming too or at the track events. It’s just such a wonderul organization and I am so glad it still is a regular occurance 🙂 I want to volunteer again at this event, it’s quite rewarding after all! But I am actually volunteering this weekend! Should be fun 🙂

  3. healthcraved

    This is way cool, Nikki! I’ve never helped with Special Olympics. My volunteer organization has always been Habitat for Humanity. I think you’re gonna make a great full-time volunteer and mother one day, like you said on my post! 🙂

  4. So cool Nikki!!! It looked like a fabulous day!

  5. katalysthealth

    This is seriously awesome, and Im really glad you get to be a part of it. Being a part of something like this truely inspires you ya know? Your an amazing person for being there for them as a coach and as a friend 🙂

  6. kelseytokar

    this is great! I never thought about using my swimming background to coach special Olympics, incredible!

    also I honestly think we are twins- we were both swimmers and I WENT TO Messiah college! weird huh??

  7. That’s so wonderful! Looks like everyone had a nice time! 🙂

  8. How cool – you have a team of champions! What a great way to give back and stay connected to something you love 🙂

  9. This is SO neat – and I loved the pictures! Great way to give back and looks like an amazing experience too!

  10. love love love the special olympics. In high school, as part of the track team, I was a “hugger” during special olympic races to congratulate runners after a great race. It was so rewarding and I’d love to be a part of it again. I haven’t volunteered in a while and this post reminded me that I need to!

  11. ittybitsofbalance

    Wow, you are such an amazing person for doing this! Serving others is so important, and there is no greater feeling. Thanks for the reminder of how precious it can be 🙂

  12. I love it! I have never thought of volunteering; duh, what is wrong w/ me. You are such an inspiring person!

  13. Ah how awesome!!! Love it! 😀

  14. This is great! My sister has autism, and she swims in special olympics. I love you that much more now!! I volunteer at an animal shelter, and it is soo very rewarding.

  15. Kari @ bite-sized thoughts

    What a great day – and event – to be involved in! I love that you were part of this 🙂 I also hope you’re feeling better, a cold is no fun at all!

  16. Congratulations to your swimmers! Special Olympics is another organization I’d love to be involved with but between two jobs and volunteering at two hospitals I don’t know if I have time to dedicate to something else but I would love to!

Leave a Reply

